Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-05-15 - 23:03:44

May 15, 2000

Musing

Ashleigh Brilliant's "Pot Shots" a one panel thing is on the comic pages here. Sometimes I think he should be prominently displayed on the front page.

Today he says, "What Really Happened," is never exactly the same as what's remembered by you,- - - or me, - - - - or History.

I guess that is one reason for my disinterest in genealogy amongst other things. To me history is the published-printed account of what the most powerful group who paid for or forced the publishing of, wanted to be said, which often contains distortions, lies, and omissions. Looks to me that it is a difficult thing to find out the truth about anything. Even the records carved in stone on the mouments in Egypt have at different times been erased, defaced or altered.

How many family histories are have some truths covered with a sweet, pretty, colorful icing ? I won't even try to guess.

Here in Colorado Chivington and the Sand Creek Massacre History the account of which has changed through the years - -in early years the account in the newspapers cited it as a glorious thing, over the years a piece here, a piece there all begin to fall into place- - - - presenting a quite different picture. I think so much history is for the most part quite conjectural.

Have had a problem bugging me for a bit, I think it was caused by contaminated food of some kind, maybe the ham was left out too long - - - - - so anyhow I will now do the Ex-Lax Waltz, g'nite

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008