Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 06, 2005 - 18:15 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Look Aft

Everytime I look forward the wind curls my eyelashes something terrible. So perhaps taking up the meme that Golf Widow put up the other day is a good thing to do while my eyelashes uncurl.

What year was it ?

somewhere in 1936 -- 1939 area.

Favorite bands or musical artists ?

The Big bands were coming in and I used to go to Elitch Park's Trocadero to see and listen. On the radio here in Denver my favorite band was Milton Shredniks - presented, I believe by Wells of Music. His music was mostly light classical. Western music was a big thing with me too.

What was your favorite outfit ?

Corduroys in the cool weather, light dungarees in the warmth. Conventional shirt with short sleeves. The window dressing was the convict look (at least we thought it was) blue denim cap with a bill and a denim work jacket.

Who were your best friends ?

Moyer, Clayte were my very best friends, Moyer from first grade and Clayte from 7th grade. Three Musketeers were we.

Where did you work ?

At a small place pounding clay into forms for fireplace tiles. Not very long though, for a while in the summer, mostly did housekeeping as Mom and Dad both worked.

Did you fight with your parents ?

I didn't really fight with my folks, argued a lot -- lost of course.

Whom did you have a celebrity crush on ?

Claudette Colbert, Sonja Heine, Carol Lombard amongst other beauties of the screen.

Did you smoke cigarettes ?

Oh yes, from age 12 on for 60 plus years. Not real proud of that, but that was us guys to begin with. Then addiction. Went from little bags of Golden Grain, roll your own on through tailor mades. Suffering the consequences now -- mea culpa.

Did you lug all your books iln your packpack only because you were too nervouse to find your locker ?

I wasn't too nervous to find my locker, but nervous that I would be found stashing my cigarettes in it. My locker was my home at school, had most of my books and notebooks in it as well as my wraps. I only took home what I needed to do work on. The day of the back pack was far in the future to us.

So much for the meme.

There was a year that I had quit school and worked in a furniture store, learned a lot there and went back to school.

So as the Ship Of State plows ahead, I turn and Look Aft . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008