Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 01, 2005 - 15:21 PST

IS YOU AIN'T ?

Going back aways into my personal history, regardless of my personal beliefs, I worked my job to the best of my abilities. I worked my night shifts, my holidays, my Sundays -- whatever the job called for, I worked it. And if I should have ever been ordered to do something illegal, I would have refused.

In the Eugene Register-Guard of today there is an article by Jim Surr of The Associated Press which deals with one aspect of job responsibilities. In full :

PHARMACISTS ON LEAVE OVER MORNING-AFTER PILL

The four cite religious or moral objections to filling the prescriptions

ST. LOUIS -- "Walgreen Co. said it has put four Illinois pharmacists in the St. Louis area on unpaid leave for refusing to fill prescriptions for emergency contraception in violation of a state rule."

"The four cited religious or moral objections to filling prescriptions for the morning-after pill and "Have said they would like to maintain their right to refuse to dispense, and in Illinois that is not an option," Walgreen spokeswoman Tiffani Bruce said."

"A rule imposed by Gov. Rod Blagojevich in April requires Illionis pharmacies that sell contraceptives approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to fill prescriptions for emergency birth control. Pharmacies that do not fill prescriptions for any type of contraceptions are not required to follow the rule."

"Ed Martin, an attorney for the pharmacists, on Tuesday called the discipline "pretty disturbing" and said they would consider legal action if Walgreen doesn't reconsider."

"At least six other pharmacists have sued over the rule, claiming it forces them to violate their religious beliefs. Many of those lawsuits were filed by Americans United for Life, the Chicago public interest law firm with which Martin is affiliated."

"The licenses of both a pharmacy and that store's chief pharmacist could be revoked if they don't comply with the Illinois rule, Bruce said."

"Walgreen, based in Deerfield, Ill., put the four on leave Monday, Bruce said. She would not identify them. They will remain on unpaid leave "until they either decide to abide by Illinois law or relocate to another state" without such a rule or law. For example, she said, the company would be willing to help them get licensed in Missouri and they could work for Walgreen there."

"Walgreen policy says pharmacists can refuse to fill prescriptions to which they are morally opposed -- except where state law prohibits -- but they must take steps to have prescription filled by another pharmacist or store, Bruce said."

"Bruce said the four pharmacists were the first Walgreen had disciplined under this rule."

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I would hazard a guess that the pharmacists did NOT try to have the prescription filled by another pharmacist.

So, where do I stand? To me if one is a pharmicist he or she is honor bound to fill prescriptions which a doctor has ordered. Obviously narcotics violations and prescribed pills for the purposes of suicide should be exempt. But that is a dicey bit at least, as some folks suicide bent will rat hole prescription drugs that can be fatal if an overdose is taken. But beside those things, it seems clear to me that if the pharmacist has ethical, religious, moral or other objections, it is up to him to move on to another venue -- or go into a different line of work.

Seems to me that over the counter would be the way to go, ensuring availability and privacy for a woman who is going to take the medication. I suppose an age restriction could be placed on that.

Apparently, many of the folks like those pharmacists are against abortion -- yet a sure means of preventing pregnancy is available they don't want to dispense it even if ordered by a doctor. Ambivalent flip-flop or "Hey pharmacist, is you is, OR IS YOU AIN'T . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008