Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 24, 2006 - 21:55 MDT

FREE WITH LIMITS

Sometimes the faint of heart suffer consequences not realized by them.

I had a nice awakening recently. The company who supplies my oxygen and equipment has always been quite nice to me and sees to it that I have bottled oxygen at our daughter's in Eugene, Oregon when we visit up there. So the other day I went up to the supplier here in Golden, Colorado and asked them to take a look at our VUE and let us know if it could accomodate enough bottles of oxygen to last me three days for a trip we wanted to take.

I was treated with utmost courtesy, and then they suggested that I take a small LOX (LOX = liquid oxygen which gives a larger quantity in a small space) bottle along with me instead of trying to use bottled oxygen. I am quite familiar with the bottled LOX as that is what I use here at home, however the one here is too big to put in the car. My Helios will last me eight hours an a fill before it runs out. Which lets me get to the mountains for the day. But this small LOX bottle will last me four days at my hourly rate of consumption, and I will refill my Helios as I do at home.

Four days, wow, what an expanse of territory I can cover using that.

So the trip we were thinking about was to Utah to see Heather's brother and his place there. Three days away with a safety margin to boot. What a hoot that is.

This afternoon after we got back from Greeley, Colorado we gassed up the car, went out and picked up the LOX bottle, lashed it in place, then to the store for supplies including ice for the cooler. So, early tomorrow morning we're OFF. Our oldest son will go along with us to visit his beloved uncle as well.

This development will let us spend the weekend at Breckenridge, Colorado at least once a summer like we used to do. We love that part of our state. We used to spend the Fourth Of July there, watching the fireworks from the balcony of the condo we rented. Gee, didn't realize it had been several years since we spent the weekend up there.

So, tomorrow we are off to Duchesne, Utah (near Dinosaur National Monument) to see brother-in-law and his home grounds. He does not have a computer, so will not be posting from there, but will write entries to make when I do come back home. Will be back late Monday and will sack out for a good long rest from that. I don't travel as easily now and tire more rapidly and feel the discomfort of the road jolts a bit more. But it will be well worth it to just get out and away for a bit.

The fence has been put further out and I am FREE WITH LIMITS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008