Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 16, 2002 - 15:40 PDT

THE WONDERING JEW

The Raspberries

Makes me feel that I might have sense and be on the track possibly. William Raspberry, of the Washington Post has a column in today's Eugene, Oregon - Register Guard, of September 16th titled, "Bush didn't prove Saddam's threat."

Which in essence says the same thing I have been ranting about all along. I will quote Mr. Raspberry in part. "President Bush, playing prosecutor before the 'court' of the United Nations, did a splendid job of proving the defendant a murderous, lying and unremorseful slime ball. but he made no headway at all in proving what badly needs proving: that the slimeball did the PARTICULAR (caps mine) crime with which he is now charged -- and for which the prosecutor is demanding the death penalty." End quote.

Mr. Bush was telling I think, the UN something it already knows, something I think, the world has known for a long time.

Quote from Raspberry again, "What the speech did not offer, though, is any evidence that Saddam is amassing weapons of mass destruction for use against the United States. That, as far as I can understand it, is the charge on which the American-executed death penalty would be based. Without that evidence, the rationale seems to go something like this: Saddam has 'dissed' the UN and menaced his neighbors, and if the UN is too chicken to do anything about it, then America will."

Mr. Raspberry finishes with, "And it fails morally. War is sometims necessary. But it needs a firmer basis than that the slimeball was happy about Sep. 11 and I'm still sore about Poppy."

The way things look to me now is that our main deck is awash with loose cannon, all rolling in different directions simultaneously. I do not argue with the statements that Saddam is a megelomaniac, a dictator beserk, and a dumbo maximus. It seems to Mr. Raspberry, to me and to many of the media that Mr. Bush is throwing rocks in a green house. I may be cursed by some as being a gol danged rotten liberal. Let it be so if that pleases folks. But the thing I keep remembering is the fights between us kids which were started because Joe thought Bill was gonna "xxxxxx" -- not because Bill did something -- just that Joe thought he was gonna. Now down the line Bill might possibly do something, to someone, even to Joe, but it hadn't happened at that time.

I think Saddam is a threat to free people everywhere, but you can't convict someone for an uncommitted crime. To oil rich, corporate type politicians to them a full blown bouquet of The Raspberries . . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008