Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 22, 2002 - 19:21 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

The Good Land

Following in Rian's footsteps I laid claim in my imagination to a small bit of land to use as a retreat, a calm down spot, a place to see the sky, clouds, stars and the few animals that reveal themselves now and then. To hear the sough of the breeze through pine trees. Been camping there in my dreams.

It is in Mesa land, where there can be upper and lower mesas, one on top of the other -- which leaves a flat bench of land around the upper called the lower mesa.

Lower Smith used to be used as a test track but hasn't been in use for ages. So, on Lower Smith I laid claim to a goodly spot of land on its western edge. From that edge because of the view. There I shall build my little cabin to be known to me and a few others as The Outlook. It overlooks the valley from about 2000 feet up, across the valley I can see where Silver Reef used to be. Silver Reef is a place a large amount of silver was discovered in an area that wasn't ever thought of as possible silver country. West of old Silver Reef are mountains. I can roam the mesa at will and do so frequently. I am going tonight to the southerly edge, sit with my legs hanging over the edge, throwing pebbles I brought with me in a bag straight out and watching the updraft up the face of the rock blow the pebbles up and back to where I am. I love to be there as the sun begins to set for one especial purpose. As the colors of the sun go from the clouds I can see the string of car tail lights going on the road into Hurricane, Utah. That road is well traveled because it goes to the west entrance of Zion National Park. Not too many headlights to be seen, the Park pretty well empties at night.

Peace and contentment is there for me. Sometimes in the daytime I will go to the eastern edge and look toward the park and see the majestic formation called West Temple, only from a side the tourists aren't able to see it. Off to the side is a part of Lower Smith Mesa that can't be easily reached but is visible as well as the edge of Upper Smith Mesa which is pretty desolate but leads to a patch of land called Kolob. Kolob has some mountainous country, pine trees and all. Coming up to there through the little valley near Virgin I can see some of the fantastic, dream scene rock formations that showed up in the movie that featured the tune "Raindrops are falling on my head," A wild western with Robert Redford in it, "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid," maybe. Every time I go there the beauty and strange shapes of the scenery take over my mind.

The road up to the mesa is twisty, steep and long, interesting you might say. Now and then I meet some car going in the opposite direction than I am. Sometimes each driver will park in place and discuss who is the closest to a turn out and has to back up -- and there aren't that many turnouts on that road. Occasionally something strange to that arid land happens - a frog strangling rain. I was caught on that road in one of those once and managed to make it to the top, but it took road work to put the road together again after the storm was over.

The top of Lower Smith, cleared somewhat by man to build the test track fills up during the growing season with Russian Thistle better known as Tumble weed. I worked there once and fell in love with the country. But there is plenty of brushy parts where I can go and be super alone, with my water and binoculars. I remember well enough all the places where ancient Indians chipped out arrowheads to visit again and again and make up stories about life on the Mesa back then. I visit again and again the tree trunks of petrified wood there.

The thing I like about it is that I can make a trip into Hurricane once a week for groceries, etc. or if I feel like it I can live it up and make the trip to St. George, hang around, take the tour around Brigham Young's house and see other sights like that. I will go once again to the top of the mesa there to see where the early Mormans used to go up and picnic and play hide and seek among the sandstone formations there. Once more run my fingers over the carven initials of the early settlers.

Rian has the boundless sea at her doorstep to contemplate. I will have the sun warmed scent of pine in my nostrils and the ability to see for miles and miles from above. Sometimes I will go toward the east edge and watch the manificent sunrise. I hope to see a minor rainstorm or two from above and take pictures of their rainbows.I will take more pictures of the story told by clouds in the sky.

Being there pretty well assures me of all the privacy I want, as the lane I clear to my cabin will accomodate my vehicle but nothing wider. Most folk don't really have much interest in coming up that twisty, rough road anyhow.

The test track has been unused for quite some time and is not populated. My fireplace and chimney I will build out of found rock from around there. Sturdy frame construction, the rest. One thing I will have is Thermopane windows so as to be comfortable in the winter. Plenty of downed trees around to cut up for firewood.

I shall have a Golden Lab to be a companion to me. I know of a man who will take care of it for me when I have to come back to churning reality for a short time. A dog who will turn into a squirming, leaping ball of joy and love when I show back up to pick him up. We will together roam the mesa to see wild sights and inspect all the unexplored nooks and crannies new to us. I will sit on favorite rocks and rest while my canine partner explores a trail of scents I can't smell.

After a wonderfully peaceful and happy day we shall head for my shanty for food, rest and happiness in The Good Land . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008