Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 27, 2002 - 17:31 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Questions

There is a joke, attributed to first one character or another that goes, "Joe, why do you always answer a question with a question ?" Joe then says, "Well, why not ?" Seems that one person a week asks the questions and does a Jack Webb, "Just the facts sir." So get in line to ask, no pushing, Friday Five

does it once a week. Here are my answers to this week's questions.

1. - What are your favorite ways to relax and unwind ?

A - Get out of my shoes and out of formal wear (Long sleeve shirt, jacket and things that spot easily, into comfortable clothes. Quietly talk things over with Heather. Check e-mail and answer it. Visit with family members. Watching a beautiful sunset in Heather's company.

2 - What do you do the moment you get home from school, work, errands ?

A.- Put my oxygen bottle up and hook up to the electric concentrator's long hose, turning it on. Then making a pit stop and finding something nice to drink.

3. - What are your favorite aromatheraputic smells ?

A. - Any more it is the feel rather than actual smell. Smeller went out when they took the polyps from my sinuses - most of the smeller went with them. So my answer I guess is cool, clean, fresh air.

4. - Do you feel more relaxed with a group of friends or hanging out by yourself ?

A. - Both. I have had jobs that put me in a remote spot away from people and managed to meditate, living in my head as I worked, so hanging out by myself is okay and there are worlds of books to read. Being among friends and or family is a treasure beyond compare. I won't stay around fussing anybodies.

5. - What is something you feel that is relaxing but most people don't ?

A. - Just poking about doing the necessary things in our apartment is one thing.

Rather prosaic answers, but I am a rather prosaic man.

++++++++++++++ +++++++++++++++++++++

Great balls of fire ! Quoting from news items in the Rocky Mountain News of today. "The White House and congressional Republicans stepped up pressure Thursday on Democrats in the battle over WORKER'S RIGHTS (caps mine) in the Homeland Security Department. Tom Ridge, the White House homeland security chief, said the Democratic-backed proposal uses a "fog of words" to erect unacceptable limits on the president's ability to waive union bargaining agreements for reasons of national security." It goes on further to say that "That power, dating originally to a 1962 executive order issued by President Kennedy, has existed in law since 1978." And if my memory is right was never invoked.

Further on in the article Tom Ridge said, "Americans expect the new department to cut through red tape so the very best people can be hired and placed in the right jobs with the right pay."(Absolutely typical corporate philosophy, from way, way back) "Ridge told the US conference of Mayors. 'A time of war is no time to limit the president's ability to to protect national security'."

It appears to me that Mr. Bush and his cohorts are after exclusive rights to do anything they want to do and to hell with anyone who works for them. Homeland Security for those who work in that arm of the government is a fallacy I think, as they will have absolutely no rights at all. The way it looks to me the administration is at the same time making the attempt to push all arms of the government into and under Homeland Security.

Republicans and corporations have long been trying to repeal the things that protect workers. Hours, wages, working conditions, seniority and all. Now they are trying to push the panic button to give the White House dictatorial powers to do that very type of thing at his will.

At least that is the way I look at it. In my mind and being I personally have grave Questions . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008