Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 12, 2002 - 22:43 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Cake

Today was one of those serendipitous periods of time that brought joy and happiness to my heart. People whose journals I have been following for ages, some of them who have been kind enough to e-mail back and forth with me are now in my mind in body as well as soul.

I have spent most of my spare time today reading about Journalcon and wonder of wonders poring over all the pictures of people and events there. Made me feel almost as if I had been there personally. What great fun.

In between I vacuumed our apartment and did a few other little things while Heather prepared dinner. About five o'clock Heather had dinner ready, table set and our youngest son walked in the door right then. He is single, so we had him for as long as he wanted to stay. The food was excellent and the company and chatter even better. Geez, I love these people -- I must be related to them. Conversation moved smoothly on topics of interest for quite some time while we ate and gradually came around to coins. I think I asked son, "Are you collecting the new quarters as they come out ?" From then on it was pneumatic numismatics. I dug up some foreign coins, and some Canadian coins I picked up on Vancouver Island a year or so ago and gave them to him along with an envelope of foreign stamps to add to the ones he is getting together to give his grandchild. Heather brought out her trove of foreign coins from her travels and gave them to him. For a good part of the evening coins and magnifying glass moved back and forth across the table as we tried to identify them. I had a US coin catalog which was about five years old which, other than values, gave us a lot of information to answer our questions. It was easy to see the relationship between the quantity of a certain coin minted in one year and the catalog value put on that coin. It was also interesting to see the vast difference in value between the common used coin and one in excellent condition and then see the huge jump in value of a proof coin.

The catalog was like the magnifying glass, it passed from hand to hand. It was interesting to see what each of us happend to think of, look up and show the others. Among my treasures is a 1921 Morgan dollar - my birth year, one Heather gave me for my birthday one year that was passed around as well as some Indian Head Pennies all of which added to the conversation.

What a pleasant evening was passed by us. One of the super treats for me was that there was just the three of us around the table and the room was quiet enough I could hear what everyone had to say. That in itself was a treat and something that seldom happens.

I still have a bunch of journals to read, e-mails to answer and comments to make. Maybe I should feel guilty, but I don't. Today was great and was icing on my Cake . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008