Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 18, 2002 - 11:22 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Clockwork

Friday for me can be a break in my brain drain as it were. You see Friday Five comes in handy if I wish to sulk a bit and not expose myself as a curmudgeon.

1. - How many TV's do you have in your home ?

A. - Two, one for my Webtv (In use when I am here) and one for Heather to view her programs.

2. - On the average how much TV -- do you watch a week ?

A. - As little as possible, circumstances of the news breaks make changes in my viewing. I was born and grew up in the era when information and entertainment came from reading books, newspapers and magazines. Being an oldster (not quite senile, I think -- yet) TV has always griped me that I couldn't lay it down and come back later and pick up the threads of whatever I was reading. I have always resented that I had to sit in one spot staring at the tube.

3. - Do you feel that television is bad for young children ?

A. - Only if the parents let it be that way. I feel that it should be age appropriate and that parents should limit the amount of time per day spent in front of the tube. Accordingly I think that a parent should be in the audience along with the child in order to explain the difference between what is on TV and reality. TV does not a good baby sitter make.

4. - What TV shows do you absolutely HAVE to watch, and -- if you miss them, you're heartbroken ?

A. - None now ! All In The Family is no more, Mash, Soap and Mary Hartman are no more, Monty Python can be seen on PBS occasionally and Northern Exposure died - I find nothing to come close to taking their place.

5. - If you had the power to set up a television network, what would your line-up be ?

A. - Heavy on history, Independent films, science and things like National Geography covers, news - once in the morning and once in the evening.

That's it, just the facts ma'am - 'til next week.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Today I glanced at the headlines in our newspaper, barfed and went to the comics to cleanse my palate. Nothing is on my personal horizon today. Maybe later I will force myself to see what's what in the world according to the media.

Who ever might read this diary, I do hope y'all have a happy, fun filled and serene weekend.

Friday Five comes around weekly, just like Clockwork . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008