Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 22, 2002 - 23:17 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Copy, What ?

There is a thing called plagiarism which of course is despicable. But copying is somewhat different I think.

Laws are peculiar to say the least, some benefit to man they are. But, take books for instance, maybe a hard cover. The author makes a profit on his sale of the right of publication of his book. The book is sold from stores and sometimes the author gets royalties on the sale of each new book. Nowadays, before long the book is out in paper back. The hard cover before long is remaindered.

After so many years I guess that particular book comes into the public domain ? Maybe, I'm not sure. Anyhow, the book is copyrighted. But if I give a book I bought for myself to another party ? Do I pay royalties to the author or publisher ? Do public libraries have to pay a fee everytime that book is loaned ?

Now we come to music governed by law also, I guess. Quite sometime ago it became possible for John Q. to tape music and speech on tape and later to copy his copies. Often those tapes are given to friends as free gifts, no money involved. Now the same can be done on CD's, also being given to others, no charge.

The original book, having been read, then passed on to friends back and forth eventually shows up in a used book store, there are no royalties paid at each sale of that book.

In the present day the sharing of music files over the net is under fire. Should it be ? A piece of music is new and someone records it and puts it on sale, some one buys it and privately tapes it and passes copies to several friends. No money involved there. It has been a practise to sell used CD's just as books are sold.

So, to me, is it wrong to charge a membership fee to share music files ? We pay membership fees in a way to public libraries in the form of taxes I think.

What is the right or wrong of it ? I am sure that someone familiar with the law on copyrights can come up with a more complete observation on what the law covers. I am also sure that giving books, giving tapes, giving music files is going to continue regardless. Do I feel guilty when I pass along a book, did I feel guilty when I passed along tapes and copies of tapes ? No.

In my opinion works of art are a different breed of horse. Why ? Damfino, that is just the way I feel. So sue me maybe. Much money has been made by people who have talent but no truly artistic abilities by making copies of the great masters of art and selling them to suckers. Some of them quite good but they are copies.

I can easily see the reasoning behind copyrights and feel that to a certain extent it is justified. But in the world of today all I can say is Copy, What ? . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008