Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 28, 2002 - 15:47 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Old Fool

Time has chased me for many years and seems to be gaining. Or, maybe I have been fleeing from it and losing speed ? In its own infallible procedure time laughs at me much to my displeasure.

When I was a young brat the possibility that there existed something I couldn't do if I could be tall enough or strong enough never occurred to me. And for a few short years it seemed to be so. In my youngest daughter's eyes Dad could DO anything.

As time passed I gave up a little bit in the strenghth department but spent many 24 hour awake days and until recently I could yet.

Consequently I manage to get myself into scheduling and endurance problems. Still though, I do the eager beaver school kid thingy with my hand waving in the air, saying, "Me, me, me !" Somehow, with lugubrious labor and candles burning at both ends what was promised by this ant headed old man is accomplished.

After it is history a sense of pride and accomplishment polish my self image and gives me a glow and an extra heart throb gives me an, "Atta Boy," then the good memories of the fine people I have met on the way are filed in my album and often in my "addy" book.

Maybe that is why Heather and I have embarked on this mild exercise program called Silver Sneakers Fitness Program. It is possibly for the geriatric generation and the class we are in is mostly for muscular strength and range of motion. Yet it gives a bit of aerobic action too. I don't think we are trying for lost youth, just wanting to survive a while longer and feel comfortable while doing so.

But when something new comes up that I feel strongly about, here comes the eager beaver once more, biting off alligator bites hoping they will pass through my esophagus. Often leaves me with a feeling something akin to the old saying, "It is hard to remember when you are up to your bum in alligators that your original intent was to drain the swamp." I manage to hop into one swamp after another going in over my shoe tops always.

Maybe that is why I am so darn curious and grouchy ? Probably, but I have the seniority to hold that job. Even so, life is grand, fun and deeply interesting. Even though Heather shakes her head and makes a remark often about there being no fool like an Old Fool . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008