Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 02, 2002 - 21:53 MST

HE WONDERING JEW

Restless Rant

Looks like Bill Gates hasn't been crucified yet, but looks like he is accepting a wake up call.

Qwest - that illiterate name is still in the news of course. Now I see that, Qwest was an upstart fiber-optic company with plans to acquire US West the Denver Baby Bell from Hell. The service US West gave their customers much to complain about. After the Qwest take over the service given the customers kept going downhill while Qwest scrambled to get the privilege to handle long distance service -- without allowing the long distance companies to set up local service.

In other news that is not new -- Pitt is still on the spit with Webster the nebster in tow. Ornamental Texas Shrub says he has full confidence in both. Confidence I would think that they would go easy on the monied folks. Its not just all about oil -- now it is all about money and power.

I guess one of the things that worry me is that if Congress, the cabinet, the Supreme Court and the president decide to cure our ailments doing something such as giving another tax break (which of course will only benefit the corporations and the rich), or cutting back on welfare, medicare, medicade and the Demon, Social Security. Now just a damn minute guys. I don't think that privatizing will help a bit. Not us Joes in the street, but it will give another company an in to filch our tax money. If they want to change the Social Security it seems to me that a drastic overnight cut would bring catastrophy to us old folk. I don't think any social change can take place overnight -- unless stock options and other perks can be taken away from the good, old rich boys and their minions.

You wanna rearrange Social Security ? Do it in such a manner that young folks can have a chance to prepare to take care of their full retirement requirements. "Grandfather" old folks Social Security, we can't get out and get a job to make up any difference between what we got and what the eager beaver, change the world overnight administrative types would grudgingly allow us to have.

Heather and I aren't all that bad off -- yet -- but with rising prices, rents and fees we eventually will be faced with the situation that many pensioners have suffered. . . . buying dog food to eat. I remember seeing a pensioner I knew who did not have a dog or cat, buying dogfood, cans and cans of it. Prices had risen again and he was attempting to cope. I figured out why he was buying dog food. He was on my paper route. The paper recently had a price increase - - - he went to a Sunday only instead of a seven day delivery. He had said over coffee that prices rose and his pension didn't.

Geez, you Pollyticians please don't make it worse.

We did a few nice errands today and had lunch with our youngest son (50 yrs old) and enjoyed a pleasant hour eating and talking. We got some copies made at MBE, they sure do nice color work for a small sum. Some copies for her and some for me. We have had a pleasant day really, under grody, gray skies. One nice thing was the sun coming through for about a half hour. Cheer factor upped to 100 %.

But still, I am bothered and bewildered at the course being taken by those who are supposed to know better than I. Some how, I can't help but going into an uneducated Restless Rant . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008