Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 09, 2002 - 19:07 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Vacancy

Life lopes along and everything appears to be okay. There are stumbling blocks encountered, and for the most part they are my fault.

My hand eye coordination accounts for some of that and that seems to be irreversible. Waning strength as I age, par for the course too, at least for me that is.

Then, worst of all are the dingbat things I do or should have done but didn't do that catch me up. I seem to be traveling in a confusion of obfuscation somewhat addled. Maybe that comes with age too, but I don't like it one little bit, Thank You Very Much.

Over time I have learned to place my car keys, billfold, medication I carry with me in the same precise place, always. Hang my clothes in the proper order and my socks and jockeys in their places. Papers and books have a habit of piling up. Papers sometimes are self cleaning. If nothing is done, then later the papers become scrap and are tossed. The books are another problem, I can't bear to part with them and can't avoid bringing more to the apartment.

Then there are things that doing or lack of doing hurt other folks feelings. I hate to be responsible for anyones hurt feelings but it happens and makes me contrite and strive to do what I can to alleviate the situation.

Heather and I go to our daughter's in Oregon twice a year usually. Sometime before time to pack and leave I make the proper arrangements, having our mail held at the postoffice, putting in for a stop delivery and a vacation pack of our newspaper to be sent out when we return. Making arrangements for late payment on bills that will come while we are gone. I learned quite some time ago that a check, even with proper account number seems to float around in outer space and never lands on the proper desk if sent to the right department. So I won't prepay anything and incur a late charge for something that is not my fault. When I send a check it is enclosed in their envelope with their statement, that usually seems to do the job.

Then I make sure that I will be able to get on the net by establishing an account there and changing my notify addresses in things regarding Diaryland. On our return last time I changed back the address on my notify list so that I would continue to tell if my notifies take root.

I guess maybe keeping a log book of my actions would help fix the blame on me or someone else. I thought I changed back my address on the guest book so that I would know when someone posted a note to me. Glitches occur, even humans have glitches and faulty switches and I have my share.

Today it came to me that I hadn't received notification of postings to my guest book. Wow, when I brought it up it was overflowing with spam of the irritating kind, a posting of, "Nice site," with a url showing that proves it is someone trying to showcase their business in my guest book. So I spent quite some time checking that out and deleting stuff. Before I went on to something else I checked my set up with notifylist.com and found that the hotmail address I used while in Eugene, Oregon had not been changed to my address here.

So maybe I don't have BO or halitosis after all and am being shunned like Fifi Le Pew. No my friends and interested parties that usually post in my guest book have been doing so all along. So on the horns of a dilemma I uncomfortably hang . . . . . whether to go on as if nothing has been amiss and answer postings as if nothing had happened or to bare my chest as I do now and say, "Wow, I didn't check my guest book to see if my addy was changed back." "I'm sorry to be such a clod." "I haven't been ignoring you, but I just have been stupid."

I send apologies to my friends and acquaintences and will back track and read all of your postings, answering those that still need answering.

I guess the edifice of me has dirty windows with a sign hanging inside, printed on it is Vacancy . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008