Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 12, 2002 - 13:35 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Downcast

70 tornadoes in one day . . . . . in the eastern part of our country. Devastation. In some places towns wiped off the earth. People killed, people injured. The survivors with no homes left and even if they could put up a shanty -- no water, sewer, electric service and none of the necessaries such as groceries, drug stores and filling stations etc. Their lives not necessarily destroyed, but for sure set back for years.

Why shouldn't the military of our country be sent (minus guns and bombs) along with their equipment and resources to those stricken areas to try to help rebuild, refurbish and restore ?

To my way of thinking that would be a heck of a lot better than going to the mideast to cope with Saddamn and his refusal to behave.

Another thing comes to my mind, a question. With the "economy stupid" so bad off, so many places gone broke and disappeared and the surving corporations and business being given tax breaks, so many people out of work, unable to even make token tax payments --- just how in the world can our country finance a war ? I haven't read what the costs of the Gulf War totalled yet. Maybe I missed it somewhere, I am sure the figure is astronomical. Are we allowing ourselves to be backed into a corner ?

Of course the existing money will become a bit more available now that Bush is not campaigning, traveling country wide in his plush Ai Force One jet. The cost of flying that bird is one big chunk of money right there.

Even that savings would be just a mere drop in the bucket of financing military action overseas.

70 tornadoes in one day in the eastern part of the country and the drought that we pray will be over after winter in our farming areas. Looks to me like we have a few more plates spinning than we can handle.

The comics didn't help this morning so am seeking something to lighten things up to reach a level of peace, even gallows humor might help. but right now I am Downcast . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008