Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 24, 2002 - 22:43 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Playtime

As per the forecast, it started precipitating last night and lightly snowed a good part of the day and was still snowing on the Bronco's football game here in Denver yet tonight. Not a significant layer of snow here in town, just messy. Nothing new really, that time of year you know.

So I stayed up and read journals later last night than I usually do, caught up a bit on e-mail and googled away for a short time. Can't help think of that old song that started, "Barney Google with the goo - goo - googley eyes." Dates me thats for sure.

Popped in a Benadryl that great anti-histamine sleeping pill that works nicely for me. No after effects and somehow allows me to sleep easy enough that I change positions when needed so that my joints will still flex in the morning.

Woke up just a bit after dawn, bathrobed went to our apartment door and picked up our 50 pound Sunday news paper before some economical tenant decided that they could save on the newsstand price by lifting our paper. Brought it in and went back to get a bit more shut eye. I've got the seniority - so I used it.

At a reasonable hour I got up, put the coffee on and sorted the paper out. by the time the classifieds, advertising inserts (which went to Heather), yadda, yadda, yadda were removed the paper only weighed on the order of ten pounds. As today was a self declared holiday for me, I studiously avoided the news knowing that most of it was bad and the rest of it probably blah. I perused the good stuff, comics, Parade, USA Today, and all the special, neat sections that hide out far behind the headlines.

Sipping coffee, eating breakfast and reading the funnies is a good way for me to start the day, and a very enjoyable and calming way to begin a Sunday.

Spent a few catching up, answering e-mail and reading the latest, scratching and yawning now and then. Popped in on the Network 54 bunch to see what they were stirring up, had a laugh or two and stuck my oar in now and then.

Heather decided that even she didn't want to go out today, which is remarkable in itself as she is usually on the go to somewhere. So we spent the day together, meeting in one room or another now and then, exchanging comments and going about our own feats of laziness.

A few phone calls, incoming and outgoing, but no company today. We had a Doug dinner, roast pork, Mexican corn and a nice green salad and wheatberry bread, just right - delicious and not to large a serving. Later on a bit of rice pudding.

Then again, I googled looking for pictures of the Southwest USA, found a few, soaked up a bit of heat and sand mentally and proceeded to do something I rarely do. I actually watched a TV program. I really enjoyed it, which is an oddity in itself. Even with a hearing aid I have to sit with my good ear right next to the source of noise to hear enough to know what is going on. It was a show I read about that would be on PBS at 8PM tonight. Skin Walkers a show based on a Tony Hillerman novel. He is one of my favorite authors and his stories deal with the Four Corners area. It was quite well done and I really enjoyed it. In a way I lived in the scenery as much of it was quite familiar as to type and setting. After the show was over I joined Heather and watched through the snow the Broncos get beat in the last minute of the game.

Then after a very enjoyable, fine day I hie me to the Webtv and the net again to make an entry that has very little sensible content, just saying that some days are better than others and today was outstanding. As a kid and all through my life one of the things enjoyed by me the most is Playtime . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008