Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 27, 2002 - 19:44 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Now Is The Time

Blessings in my life, there are many and I think a miracle or two all granted by my Higher Power. Thanksgiving Eve is a good time to count some of them.

Life, without which there would be no me. Mom, who toted me around nine months and carried me like a monkey on her back for the next bunch of years. She did the best any Mom could do raising a boy child. Dad was a loved and respected mentor and ass kicker when the need arose as well as providing for us. Somewhere in the beginning I was given the ability to appreciate being in motion, color, smell, touch and sound. Such a gift that has been.

Being able early on to read has been a blessing that has been a joy and a source of knowledge. The gift of being able to think logically, which went unused for quite some time -- to my disadvantage.

I am thankful for the many nice acquaintences through my life and for the few real friends who liked me in spite of who and what I was/am. I'm thankful that I did not get injured early on to the extent that I could not have a good life. I am also thankful for the things I learned at school and for the things I learned through my life and am thankful that I am still learning.

Of course pretty well the peak of my good fortune was meeting and marrying Heather, a person far better than I deserved. Thankful for all the work that lady has done for our welfare all these years. More thankfulness for the offspring that belong to us -- or maybe us to them.

Thankful that I realized I couldn't break the alcoholic spin I was in without the help of my Higher Power and thankful I tried for that help. Thankful for the folks around me in AA who helped me get my feet under me. And thankful for the alcoholic in recovery who roomed with me the year I was in exile from home. What a spirit that man has, an inspiration to me.

Making it through a year of tech school at age 56 and finding a job soon after graduation. Being able to work a job for some number of years thereafter.

Gratitude that Heather and I made it through that horrible auto accident in 1996 with the only real injury being my broken neck. Thankfulness for the care given me by medical people from Rock Springs, Wyoming to Denver Health Medical Center and doubly grateful that they had the expertise to see me through the whole thing. Thankful for the physical therapist who patiently encouraged me to keep at it until I was as recovered as was possible for me. Thankful for the love and tender care given me by Heather through all that time, far above and beyond the things she normally did all along.

Oh, so very thankful that I am not yet in Alzheimer's. Thankful for Heather getting my Webtv and enabling me to surf the web, meet folks, post to some forums and finally begin to do a diary.

Finally I am thankful to be able to have an idea of what is going on in our country and thankful to be able to express my opinions freely.

I guess to each person there comes an ideal time to give thanks, for me Now Is The Time . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008