Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 28, 2002 - 23:01 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Fun Day

The realization that Heather and I have gained enough seniority over the years that the planning and preparation for things like Thanksgiving Day get togethers is now up to younger members of the family. We like that, remembering Heather's Mom when she got old enough that all she did was clean house for the Thanksgiving feast. The rest of us brought goodies. But it always was held at her and her Dad's house. I think the first two years she did do the turkey and then sat off to the side while the women set the table and did all the rest, which always did entail the pick-up and clean-up afterwards.

Heather did bake six pumpkin pies which we took with us to grand-daughter's festal table. No biggie for Heather, they were done and in the fridge yesterday.

Today, rising at a leisurely hour and dawdling over coffee and toast with jam. We did a bit of needed work here at the apartment but not feeling driven about it. This afternoon we went to see our daughter who is in an assisted living home, they had already dined, so Heather and I tried to take her out for dessert as she loves to go out. Surprised us, Dairy Queen in our area was closed as well as MacDonalds and another place or two. I can't recall that those places were closed on Thanksgiving before, however in the years past we were in the middle of dinner preparations here, same for dinner at a relative's house.

We returned to her house and Heather and daughter disappeared up to her room and did girly stuff, trying on clothes and things a man can't do. I hung out downstairs visiting with the other residents who were not out at their relatives gatherings. I do get to visit with them when Heather and daughter are upstairs and enjoy it thoroughly. They are a neat bunch of people. They finished upstairs and came down to visit also.

Late afternoon Heather and I drove to a grand daughter's house for Thanksgiving dinner. Most all of the family were there except youngest son who was in Colorado Springs with his daughter, son-in-law and their baby for this day and of course the Eugene Oregon contingent. What a mix of people, from the toddlers on up in age. The other grandpa is a retiree from Coors Ceramics, myself a retired electronic tech, one of the men there is a farrier, our daughter's husband is a county employee and is now approaching his busy season of the year, plowing snow in the mountains of the county. David's father is a M.D. My oldest son and his wife are school teachers, her retired, him still teaching. Makes me understand how old I am when he is approaching retirement age too. But for the day it seems we split into two groups, the little ones who play off to themselves and those who are not officially in our second childhood yet having a blast visiting with each other. All but me, I sort of rotate, play with the kids for a while and then lurk about the edges of the conversation putting in a word or two now and then.

I don't really know why it is but everybody stayed far into the evening, nobody seemed bored apparently enjoying visiting as much as Heather and I. We just got home and I thought I would make a short entry. I don't have a rant on tap for tonight. Things in the political pot seem to be hurbling and burbling as usual. There are two articles in this mornings paper that I want to read in depth, one is, "Money Trail Leads Back To Saudis," and the other is, "The Chasm Between The Fanatic And The World." The latter is of special interest to me as my own feelings are that all the trouble in the world is caused by fanatics and radicals, plus or minus a small percent of dingbat types. Then there are the fanatic, radical dingbats who really mess things up. Anybody see shrubbery around ?

But just before bedtime tonight I want to relax and remember that this has been for us an exceptional Fun Day . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008