Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 08, 2002 - 22:45 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Sisted Twister

A peculiar form of communication is our English language. King's or Queens for that matter. Take for instance the non-dictionary words for anger. We supercilious types meticulously say, "John is sure, "Ticked off at me." When really we and the person or persons listening know that the phrase is a euphemism for, "Pissed off." Etymology be damned, that is a path I don't wish to tread tonight.

"I am mad at," is another show stopper, another phrase we automatically accept and another way of saying, "Pissed off at." Once in a while I hear someone say, "He is mad in the face at . . ." insane in the face ? Oh yeah, that means pissed off also.

I had a boss who used to throw a, "Sh*t fit," when he became angered. (did I avoid the scatological there ?) You knew what I meant, not needing an explantion did you ?

When I get really angry and wish to make present company aware of it, "I blow my stack," not to be compared with blowing one's horn though. "Pitch a fit," is in there somewhere.

In many ways we can do the po'ed bit in many different ways and eventually some wise ass will come with a new way.

English can be mingled, mangled, spangled and dangled, and other things too. It doesn't take long to get the drift of what is meant for most of us. A few applications or our Mother tongue switch and we still get the meaning.

The young'uns come up with things meaning good like, "cool," "fat," used to be, "rad," and way back there, it was for a while, "That's really George," can't even come up with where that might come from. Then, when I was a kid we would say, "That's Jake by me," I never knew who Jake was either.

English is malleable to say the least. Some words said with a raised eyebrow belie what was actually said, and body English really puts the emphasis on the actual meaning someone wishes to convey. I won't even go into some things such as "WTFWT ?" said in an irritated tone.

To have the same word for such things is so boring and the use of substitutes do add a bit of humor I guess.

There is one phrase attributed to the British that amazes and amuses me when I hear it. "Knickers in a twist," that seems to indicate ire. Now I would get very angry if I were to receive a wedgie, but heck knickers, or in a boys case, Jockeys in a twist are par for the course. Maybe British knickers are more genteel usually and keep themselves in a comfortable position for the wearer.

But such things are not a burr under my saddle nor a pebble in my shoe. Hee hee. Hah. When it comes to expressing myself in English, I am one Sisted Twister . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008