Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 18, 2002 - 20:09 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Should I ?

I read in the newspaper that about a million people have already lost their unemployment benefits (whatever they are called) and 800,000 soon to be in that same capsizing craft. Homeless shelters are now overflowing. Many of our homeless of today are people who have lost their jobs through no fault of their own, have lost cars, homes and in the end families. The very cold weather is coming soon. And the way it looks maybe my pension will go by the board or the feds chop our neck on medicare, your job or income might go by the board too, maybe sooner than later.

The suffering around the world is truly unbelievable until one witnesses it. I have seen some, but not the worst, and been made heartsick at the sight.

Efforts to help overseas people who are starving, needing medical attention, schools with teachers - all are often nullified by thieves, people in power grasping to get the lions share and the tigers too regardless of who goes without. Donated stuff often rotting on the docks, who knows why.

We have many problems in our own country that are not being addressed. I have heard the refrain, "The homeless don't want to work, they are all lazy. all alcoholics, all mentally disturbed." Of course there are some of each but I feel that the vast majority of homeless people today would welcome work at a living wage rather than stand in line for shelter and food.

How many people are there who were just scraping by and are now homeless ? How many people have been put on the lowest rung of the ladder and the next step is into sheer poverty and homelessness. They keep saying our country is in good shape, why then are there people starving in our country, doing without basic medical attention because they can't afford it ?

I guess I should sit here, fat, dumb and happy and let the fickle finger do its job. I can in reality do nothing to help alleviate any of the trouble. Except exercise my right to free speech, until Homeland Security takes me away. About all I can do is natter and point to problems -- having no real solutions to problems that may have no solution. So I natter away.

But inside me is a feeling of inadequacy, guilt because I have so little to give.

In the back ground of our preparing for our Christmas is the low keening of the hungry, homeless, sick and people who have lost whatever hope they had. Along with that there is the burr under my saddle indicating that things are going to get a darn sight worse before they get better. More layoffs happening every day.

Heather and I are making preparations for possibly our last trip to Eugene, Oregon on the 22nd to daughter's home and family to a very festive, happy time and beloved family. Depending on what happens to flights out of Denver and the cost thereof it is possible we will not be able to afford to fly again. Can't go by train on account of they won't allow oxygen bottles on the train. Still fussing with AMTRAK about that, hoping to change that a bit, one way or another. We can't go by car because of the oxygen situation.

I will see that Heather gets to go next time for sure.

Determined to be happy, cheerful and full of fun for the season, doing the best I can to be those very things, but Should I ? . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008