Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 19, 2002 - 21:36 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Puzzle Me

I sat with Heather tonight and watched the finale of Survivor Thailand. Which of course started this Jew Wondering.

Through the years I have been hooked on things on the radio before TV. Jimmie Allen the fly boy on Skelly Oil program. Jack Armstrong, the all American Wheaties Boy, First Nighter which had Don Ameche as commentator, put on by Evening In Paris, One Man's Family and then later on Inner Sanctum.

Sports on TV, occasionally, soccer is about it for me now. I used to enjoy golfing, but to watch it on TV is for me worse than watching time pass on the Depot clock. I used to be in a bowling league and had a blast. Watch it on TV ? Not me, like golf doing it beats watching it. Baseball the same.

Then there were the programs most of which I am not sure I remember the names, Welcome Home Cotter, the one where Henry Winkler was the Fonz was that Happy Days ? Later on In The Heat Of The Night with Carol O Conner (spelled wrong).

Much of my TV watching in later years was very spotty as working night shift messed up watching TV. Along in there I did get hooked on Mash and later yet Northern Exposure, and hooked it was.

After I retired I finally got to see re-runs of all of Mash and am still tuning in Northern Exposure re-runs.

There was one on PBS that I followed religiously, Tales Of The City, how intricate was that series and had one of my favorite actresses starring - Olympia Dukakis.

We lost Bravo on our Cable Tv - there went the independent shows.

Then I pretty well went to books as I really didn't want to hear 24 hour news 48 hours a day and the programs didn't seem up to snuff for me either. I risk offending Buffy fans, with no intent of course, but it leaves me with a blank look on my face. Just ain't my bag.

For a long time I read favorite authors, Tony Hillerman, Patricia Cornwell, Irving and many others. But there was something lacking, an unsatified hunger. It was about that time that Heather, the soul of empathy, saw my condition and dis-satfaction with life as it was and bought me the Webtv set and therefore the wide world of real live people who by the nature of the Web would listen to what I typed without interruption and gave me a chance to see what they had to say. Then, Oh praise my Higher Power from forums next came the vast interest I have in journals and diaries. I was very timid for quite some time, quite brazen on forums but not sure that I could handle a diary.

I still look at the TV guide and check the newspaper for things I might be interested in, but there are few. The ice skating contests are programs I like to watch.

I guess that I am a quirky type of person, with weird likes and dislikes and easily bored. The Survivor shows should be right up my alley, but just weren't. Why and how I am what I am and justification for preferring any one thing over another, it does Puzzle Me . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008