Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 26, 2002 - 14:21 ST

THE WONDERING JEW

My Back

Simple thoughts and a prayer toward the end of another year.

A short sentence, addiction -- don't get into it.

I could probably get into a long discourse about the addictions I put myself into and practised for many years. Suffice it to say that I am an Alcoholic in recovery and a Smoker in recovery. According to what I have been told and firmly believe, an alcoholic never totally recovers, all it would take would be a drink and before it would end it would be back into alcoholism. I believe the same to be true with nicotine addiction.

The end result for me from my addictions is a bad heart, extra prescription medications to take all the time - faithfully. A sllent partner that trails me where ever I go, an oxygen bottle on a little cart. As one doctor told me, cigarettes will do the dirty deed, but being an alcoholic sped up the process. Results of addiction, bad heart among other things.

So from now until eternity, I do hope that some young man headed my Macho way of youth, takes heed and backs off from addiction. I hope for them sooner than I did. It is true I have regrets for the waste of time, I no longer have that monkey on My Back . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008