Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 17, 2003 - 20:56 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Peaceful Thoughts

Whether our country is engaged in war or not, whether I like what our administration is doing or not there remains the fact that it is my country and I love it. My main thought is that our service people deserve all the support they can get and it should be given gladly. However I still feel that our civil rights are under heavy attack.

So much for that tonight.

I guess that none of us really realizes how close to disaster one really is until faced with the possibility of it happening to ourself. Such a spot I was in Saturday evening. I did not sit and think, "Now what will I do if she is taken ?" No, in my limited and crippled style I sincerely prayed. And I find that many others were also praying and sending good vibes, best wishes and their form of addressing the infinite.

At such times I remember things like the verse of Emily Dickinson that Rian has on her site and e-mails Hope it goes like this.

Hope is a thing with feathers

That perches in the soul

and sings a tune without the words

and never stops at all.

Such simple but great thoughts lead me into meditation and deep thinking, as deep as my limited mind can go.

Another poem sent to me recently by a friend who does not know who wrote it and it goes like this:

A bell's not a bell

'til you ring it

A song is not a song

till you sing it

Love isn't love

until you give it away.

Some of the old truths are dressed in nowadays language that we hoi polloi can understand and soaks into the spongelike souls of some of us. Things like that seem to be a type of armor to me, helping me bear what must be borne, face the facts of the Norn, help out who needs it regardless of consequences.

I don't necessarily feel chastened because at the moment I have done nothing wrong but surely I am subdued and thankful in a very quiet way. Today there has been such an outpouring of best wishes for continued recovery of Heather. E-mails began coming in on Saturday night, messages of prayer and good vibes for Heather and support for me.

I am so grateful and thankful to know that people care for us.

Because of her, I still live, maybe we can be together some more years.

All I want to do tonight is think quiet, Peaceful Thoughts . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008