Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 25, 2003 - 22:35 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Flexible

I was thinking and remembering tonight as I often do. But along with that I was trying to see how the world is treating my journal friends. One has a mother in the hospital, another has a journal friend who just died. A lot of us old geezers and geezerines are coping with whatever is and has been ailing for us for a long time.

The world keeps turning of course, but seems to speed up and slow down at the awfullest times.

When I was little five minutes was an eternity, if I was thirsty and was promised a drink of water when we would get somewhere in five minutes, I died of thirst many times over. I finally got to the point it was possible to cope with time in periods of five minutes, took a bit of doing though.

Then there were the eternities of time when, "Wait 'til your father gets home," hung over my head, play as fast as I could it seemed like forever 'til the dreaded time came.

As I grew, through great effort on my part the span of a day was realized in my mind. I could look at tomorrow as something but a short sleep away. Evenso, next week then assumed the title of eternity for me.

A month which had been at least three lifetimes to me as a little one finally became a liveable stretch of thirty one days that could be, with patience navigated.

The concept of a whole darn semester assumed the life time status then. Forever from the start of school in the fall until it let out in June.

Then came romance and time stood still while love reigned, only to gain speed when puppy love aged too quickly.

Then a concept of time passing when I could look at this Christmas and ahead to next Christmas.

Work made things sort of a daily, humdrum thing where time drug from eight in the morning 'til five in the afternoon and then sped up until work time came around again.

When I met the lady who would be my wife, time did a funny thing to me -- it both sped up and dallied too. What a great thing that was.

We married and then I began to count time as to when the oldest would be starting school and then when the youngest would also begin. Then it was when the oldest would start junior high and when the youngest did so. Next came timing the entrance to high school, oldest and then youngest.

Along in there time made a bit of a split. Marriage for one and then another while the rest finished school. And time stayed ever split then.

Our kids began to have their own kids Heather and I running to keep up with what was going on in school for the grand kids.

All of a sudden our grand kids began to marry and then amazingly there are a bunch of greats running around.

Time begins to lose meaning more or less now. We are here for the ride as long as it lasts, so who is the timekeeper ?

It seems to me that the perception of time passing is Flexible . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008