Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 27, 2003 - 17:26 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Be Forgotten ?

He was a wonderful force for good and love when he became a personality known to me when our youngest, a daughter, was taught a lot about kindness, love and self confidence as well as many of the other good things about living by Mr. Rogers. I would see him on the screen and pause a bit to see what he had to say. I would always come away thinking to myself, "Gee, I wish that I could be like him someday." That someday being, far into the future, maybe I could be somehow -- but could not be achieved without dedication and hard work on my part.

To me He was a man so gentle, with a commonsense understanding of life and the needs of young people, one who could and did project an atmosphere of love to those who would listen, he was far, far above we common working Joe's

I have spent most of the day reading accounts by younger journalists than I relating their stories on the web about growing up with Mister Rogers and how he affected their life.

His goodness, kindness and commonsense approach to life at a kids level even impressed those of us grown ups who stopped to listen now and then. He helped kids understand that they are unique beings and are equals among people on this earth. Serenity and equanimity also pervaded his program.

Why should I, a person who was in advanced adulthood mourn his passing ? Simply because of the fact that he was one person who among other things helped teach young persons civility, politeness, to listen, to love and to observe with an open mind.

Mr. Rogers Neighborhood is one I would like to inhabit to the end of my days.

Most of us mourn his passing but understand that stomach cancer is a cruel torture and wish him a good journey to his destination.

He has left us but will he ever Be Forgotten ? . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008