Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 01, 2003 - 22:41 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Friend

I have a friend who waits patiently beside my bed

all through the night and ne'er complains if I be a sleepy head,

Bent and twisted a bit like me, staunch he stands without a move,

He speaks not but silently walks with me all the day,

He needs not food, or rest,

And requires no praise,

But, oh how I do lean on my steady friend, Sir Cane.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I have many silent friends, my suspenders that save me embarrassment, my warm jacket that shelters me warmly. My bed who supports me through the night and helps me get as comfortable as it can. Our coffee maker, a friend indeed who cheers me in the morn. My shoes, comfortable, well fitting that support me and save the grating of gravel and rough spots on my feet.

Oh, the list is endless I know -- but I love them all.

However my trusty companion is with me or within easy reach all through my waking hours, goes with me where I go and accompanies me on my return.

Its as if it grew especially to fit my hand, myrtle it is -- with character, it has a crack or two and speckles here and there but to me it is a handsome thing, it clings to me and I to it.

Sir Cane is prepared to defend me to the end from intruder wild or mugger bold. What more can I say ? Sir Cane is my Friend . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008