Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 10, 2003 - 18:52 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Low Tonight

Still shook up yet tonight. A lady friend of ours, a contemporary of Heather's older sister and her friend since before Heather and I met. A super good friend that, she is more one of the family than some blood kin. She rides with Heather and I to see her sister about once a week weather permitting. She has over the years become a super good friend with Heather and I. When the crawler begins at the bottom of my screen I can almost bank that it is Wilma on MSN Messenger, she visits a little while and then goes about her daily routine. 87 years old and sharper than I am, independent no end. Went into hospital for an angioplasty. Today was the day.

Today Heather and I figured on an evening visit with her feeling that she would be chipper after her angioplasty by then and wanting to visit.

Unfortunately we arrived at her room in the ICU by being mistakenly waved on in by someone who should have checked a bit better. We arrived at her room to see medical personnel surrounding her. A nurse came by and told us that today was not a good day to visit Wilma, that she had just come out of open heart surgery.

We came home in a haze of guilt. Heather the faithful who never ever misses a visit to someone in the hospital was crucifying herself with the "Shoulda's." "We should have visited her yesterday," was Heather's comment, sadly stated. Me, the guy who has always been in hospital more often and always having many visitors feeling guilty that I had not paid back into the system of, "Do unto others," especially when that "others" was Wilma.

We are praying that Wilma survives and returns to good health afterward. Knowing her age, chances are that she will be in hospital quite sometime and then in a nursing home until she is able to once again go home. A very independant person who has lived alone for many years. We do hope that she will be able to once again live in her own apartment.

Heather and I know that if Wilma is close enough we will be visiting her frequently. Just hope that she is out soon and living on her own terms once again.

This is one time that The Wondering Jew is my diary, for me to talk to and try to figure out why I fell short. My own personal trainwreck bearing the sign Mea Culpa. Answers are not forthcoming, yet. We are feeling very Low Tonight . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008