Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 14, 2003 - 20:34 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

What Tunnel ?

Wilma is surviving. Some tubes and gadgets have been removed. Too early to tell if her brain will be damaged permanently or if she will recover fully. Heather talked with Wilma's son tonight and got what information there is. We pray and hope for the best for her.

So then I go to the usual thing, the Friday Five for exercise.

1. - Do you like talking on the phone ? Why or why not.

A. - Not really. In business matters I found that it was more successful to walk into a man's office rather than have his secretary tell me on the phone whatever lie her told her to tell. So face to face seemed to make communication better. A ringing phone, to be useful must be answered when it rings. It is not always convenient to do so.

2. - Who is the last person you talked to on the phone ?

A. - My daughter who lives in Oregon.

3. - About how many phones do you have at home ?

A. - Plugged in ? Three, one on an extension to the main one and one at my Webtv rig on another line.

4. - Have you ever encountered anyone who has really bad phone manners ?

A. - Yes. Some of my work has been telephone intensive. Rudeness and bad manners seemed to be the norm in many circumstances. Deliberate rudeness is common. Being put on hold for extended periods I consider bad manners. Having to punch through a whole menu in a program only to get a voice mail or the wrong person wastes my time and makes me very angry at the organization that tries to save money by putting the electrical robot between customer and his source of help. Almost impossible in this present day to get to a live body and get intelligent action, answers or directions.

5. - Would your rather pick up the phone and call someone or write them an e-mail or a letter ? Why or why not.A. - Yes to all. There are times that only a phone call can get the desired results quickly. Snail mail takes too long for many applications, but it puts things in black and white. If the person I am e-mailing is known by me to catch up frequently then I know that e-mail is the way for me to go. Then an almost ideal situation exists - I e-mail them at my convenience and they read it at their desired time and answer it likewise.

Ranking

e-mail 1

Phone 2

Snail Mail 3

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The media are having a field day on this Elizabeth Smart situation. Conjecture from talking heads and newspapers all going in different directions, just like spitting in your hand and then clapping. Guesses and informed opinions fly just about the same way. Slow news day I guess. Bush apparently waffling, stock market still in the Bermuda Triangle, so we get Smart. Wasn't there a tv program by that title, "Get Smart"?

Seems to be taking longer for us to get the apartment back together than to take it apart. Bummer, they said, "Keep at it, there is light yadda yadda." Debatable, not much light and What Tunnel ? . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008