Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 23, 2003 - 19:42 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Toe Dipping

For a long time today I couldn't get into Diaryland. Now apparently I am there. Whether it will be here long enough for me to enter my blather, who knows ?

When I know that I will probably be waiting room jailed I carry my pen and notebook and if a thought occurs I try to put on paper.

Usually it is something light or thoughtful, maybe even a mite humorous. Soothes me a little I think.

Questions By A Little Boy

I lay my head on the bed,

Vowing to be wakeful the night through,

But I see the dragon I dread,

The one in my dreams, all grue,

Fire churns out his nose,

He makes such a clatter,

Much bigger he grows,

His claws, my ear drums shatter.

His jaws full of choppers, open wide,

To swallow me down,

I dread to be put inside,

To maybe drown,

In those those icky sloppers,

Oh, what is that light ?

Coming from, where ?

Why so bright ?

Oh what a glare !

You mean I slept ALL NIGHT ?

--------- Doug 2003

+++++++++ +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Evidence

The sun is up there,

The sky is fair,

The clouds are puffin',

Like an overstuffed muffin,

Over there is seen,

At the edge of snow,

Grass beginning to green,

Any of three ways you know,

By calendar, stars or what is seen,

IT IS SPRING !

--------- Doug 2003

+++++++++++++++ +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

For me it is hard to deal with the vagaries of life as I encounter more of the people of our world. Living seems to bring more questions than answers, then too, the answers are often no, when yes is desired.

Some times I wonder, "Am I on the wrong page ?" Or, "Which way should I be going ?" Then, "How should I react, given this new development ?"

I always had the idea that age brought wisdom and serenity to a person. Wish I could buy a bundle of each at Target. But I see that I should have spent time and effort to study the philosophy of the wise so I could, someday, be such a possessor of wisdom.

Serenity seems to be mine in such small increments nowadays. The state of our country and world is not conducive to tranquility, let alone such a thing as peace.

Faith and trust as well as full belief seem to answer some questions for me. Probably some of my other queries are somewhat immaterial to the sujects at hand, something to handle as well as possible and then, on to the next thing. Seems to me that survival with grace and kindness to others is the best route to follow. Seems there are no simple answers to the big dilemmas I encounter. Me, just applying quick and dirty patches to keep things going and moving on.

Maybe that's what differentiates pain from pleasure, the calm in the eye of the storm. That soothing in-between which can be enjoyed until the next tsunami or tornado comes through.

Maybe all of life is like one's first time ride on a scary, giant roller coaster, not knowing on the rise when the bottom will drop out from under or how long the next mind bending steep rise will be until the next screeching fall to the next rise and encountering wracking curves unexpectedly. Being confused by the grinding roar of the whole shebang.

There are the times of my meditation, seeking serenity and now and then reaching my goal. Then too there are my morning prayers and the ones in between which give me comfort and assuredness.

So, I walk the shaky span from birth to my eventual death the best way I know how and touching my fingers to the banister as I go.

Due to the insecurity of making entries and notifying folks, tonight's entry might be considered as me walking to the edge of the water and Toe Dipping . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008