Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 27, 2003 - 20:50 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Long And Slow

Creaky and crotchety, squeaky and squawkity some of us old folks are. Maybe I should speak to myself and tell me that not all old folks are that way - but anyway I am. Okay, guess I should live with that.

That wonky knee of mine finally got enough better so yesterday and today I was able to do a John Bailey "medicine" walk. Felt good to be out and walking again, much more than the few measley steps into the store and back out the way it has been.

Durn thing is more or less painless, but the feeling of discomfort, unease, things not quite right just yet is still with me. No hurting but it feels like it would if given a chance.

That injection of cortisone type medication under the knee cap seemed to calm it down over a period of time. Got my fingers crossed hoping that with physical therapy maybe another injection won't be needed.

The weather has been gloriously Denver Spring of the best kind. Sunny, warm, light breeze. Just waiting for the other shoe to drop. They haven't got all the broken branches trimmed up from that heavy snowfall we had recently, just hope that the spring flowers don't get beat down into nothing this year. Some trees are in full leaf and some just coming out, from a short distance away it just looks like a green mist wreathing through them.

Yesterday we went to the park to walk and today we walked the "Quad," an area between the high rise buildings of our complex, not quadangular but rectangular in conformation, having a sidewalk all the way. Pleasant here, trees, shrubs (Not Geo.) grass, ducks and a couple of geese wandering around plus benches every now and then to rest if needed. Heather and her knee gave it up after one lap, I made it for three and was ready to rest. Wonkynee is reasonably comfortable tonight. Maybe I can begin walking every day again.

We have been sitting out on our slab (if it were on the upper floors it would be called a balcony) enjoying the weather and feeling of spring restoration. As much as I like our apartment, I need outdoor time too. I just hope the watering restrictions are not too stringent here this summer so that things will stay green on through summer and early fall. Wouldn't bet on that happening though. Just hope.

Soon Jeannie will be here on a visit with her daughter who lives and works here. We will be able to roam around with her doing our things for a day or two. She is a blast, most of us know her by "daisyok" on the net.

And July is getting closer when daughter and her family come in from Eugene, Oregon for a visit that is always a happy time, the whole family gets together a time or two when she comes.

Pleasant things in sight in the near future. In the in-between-time things will go Long And Slow . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008