Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 10, 2003 - 21:44 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Tomorrow

It seems to go in endless cycle. Mothers, Mothers of Mothers who are also Mothers. It goes the other way too Grandmothers, Great Grandmothers and back as far as one can reach. From Eve it is said.

Most of them have Mothered children who are sometimes heedless and disobedient and who fail to give the love and respect their Moms deserve. Some of those children never grew up to respect their mothers, seems sixty year old ones are the worst, adding practical crabby to their list.

Endless labor and giving unbounded love is usually a Mother's lot, they even go to see a son in jail 'cause they still love him.

So, one day a year, if we don't forget, its a dozen long stem roses, we try to cook breakfast, gussie up and take her to a show and dinner. If we are real smart we arrange for a trustworthy baby sitter. If we are smarter yet, the babysitter is not a Mother Teen aged kids should be in demand for this day.

Many folks have lost their dear Mother or are suffering through the oncoming tragedy of painful loss of their Mother's, or tending a Mother who can't help herself. The combinations are endless.

On Monday Mother's will then go on with their Mommy life not missing a beat, doing household drudgery or stressful jobs away from home. Some Mom's are doing both now too, many of them with very little help from Macho Man.

It is a fact that some Moms raise their kids as their only parent and for the most part do a good job of it.

I wish I had a Mom still alive, a Grand Mother too. I don't, but this day brings their beloved memories back to me in a burst of splendor. Wish I could show them how much I love them from the time I was a rebellious kid, a snarling snot I was, and the love is still there.

Tomorrow I will be visiting Heather, my wife, who has done all, been all for everyone for most of her life. Fortunately Heather is alive, but the down side is that she has been sick and has lost much of her energy and ability to move around. She will be getting physical therapy at home, that and the medication should bring her home where she belongs and wants to be. She had a super good day today, we walked the halls several times, she ate well, we sat and held hands on a sofa in a nook having good conversation. She thinks they will let her come home on Monday . . . . I truly hope they do.

With Heather being home and a therapist coming to the apartment I am sure she will snap back to how she was, not too long ago.

With juice glass raised, love in my eyes and her hand in mine she shall celebrate Mother's Day in a rehab facility. Our kids will be coming to see her and I am sure some presents will accompany them. The present from our daughter in Oregon to her will ride in my backpack when I go to see her in the morning.

My feeling is that it should be a year of honor for Moms but it isn't. It is just one day - Tomorrow . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008