Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-05-11 - 18:18:20

May 11, 2000

Scrambled

Generations have different viewpoints. This was recently pointed up in "Denver Square" by Ed Stein, the wise man of Denver cartooning. This one features a son-in-law and a father-in-law in conversation. Son in law reads out loud from the paper, "The last helicopter to leave the U.S. Embassy in Saigon. A reminder of the folly of the arrogance of power." Father-in-law says,"And I see the failure of will - -the pathetic surender of the strong to the howls of the faint of heart. Twenty five years and we STILL haven't learned the lessons of Vietnam." Son-in-law in disagreement with f-i-l as usual, says, "How can we, when we still can't agree on what they are !"

One can only read history and shake his head. Then a few years later the supposed "true" facts come out - - - - - and we again, shake our heads. Some times I feel that we are on the level of the animals in the jungle, only divided, disordered and at odds with each other - - - more so than them.

I read in the paper that Prozac is reported to have a side effect which actually causes people to be more suicidal than before. After I finally got off tricylic drugs (which had terrible physical side effects) Prozac was the next shot, later on when I reported to my therapist that I thought Prozac was making me "squirrely" the doctor put me on another anti depressant - which did the job wonderfully well.

I can remember years ago, passing by with my folks an old cemetery on eighth Avenue and York St. which I think was called the City Cemetery. I read an article that the City of Denver had purchased land west of that area with the intentions of expanding the Cemetery. Guess that the levels of hangings and shootings out here in the wild, wild west "died" out pretty well. The City made a beautiful park out of that land - a jewel of Capitol Hill, It has a marble structure of beautiful classic design which graces the highest point there - no other structures there - just trees, shrubbery and grass. Now it is totally surrounded by habitations and in the crowded part of Denver it is a breath of the tranquility afforded by a little open space and pleasant surroundings.

The old cemetery ? I guess I could go to the public library which has a great history department and find out the nitty-gritty. Memory tells me that the remains were disintered and taken elsewhere for reburial.

Now there are residences in the old cemetary area. Everything is nice and neat and pretty there with residences abutting it on the west side too.

Differences are sometimes blurred and maybe voided completely by the changes of time like the changing landscape of a city.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008