Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 16, 2003 - 21:00 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Visit

Day broke, and so did I. At least it felt like it. I made the mandatory pit stop and told Heather, "Damn, my neck muscles are in spasm, going to go back to bed 'til I can get them loosened up." Her reply, "I wondered why your neck is so twisted up.

So back in the sack, straight on my back and massaged and messed around and finally my head would move the way I wanted it to. Took on the order of half hour though. Then I was ready to face the usual complications of life in the senile squadron (I am the corporal of the second squad of the second platoon).

We are in the process of getting ready to receive the visitation of our latest great grand child and her Mom on Sunday. Figuring we will have a bunch of family around to string out the baby, Heather and I began the usual house cleaning before visitors.

We took it easy and Heather didn't attempt anything that she wasn't up to and I tried to fill in the gaps.

Had a slightly late lunch and got ready to go see Heather's personal physician at the clinic. As usual, especially on a Friday doctor's appointment no one ever gets in right on time. The later the appointment is, the longer the wait. SOP of course, "tolerance build up" is a term that could be applied to clinic operations. It is usually used to explain why mass produced parts often don't fit together. If part A is made on the plus side of tolerance and part B is made on the plus side then they won't fit. The more parts the bigger the mismatch, often. In clinic, if a doctor sees an eight o'clock patient at eight and it takes a few minutes longer than usual, already the doctor is behind and the next victim sits awhile longer. On into the afternoon a person can wait quite a long time, wondering if they will even get in that day. I could have said it took quite a long time to get in to see Heather's doctor. But I got milk, and words to burn.

I love this doctor, she is tops and also my physician -- sort of a family thing. She will listen, ask questions and go the full route. I can see why a late appointment with her can run past regualar quitting time. The usual preliminaries were performed by the nurses, weight, temperature, blood pressure, pulse, etc. Then doctor did some of her things then, too. Then after her questions were answered by Heather, she thought, asked some more questions. Then she discussed with Heather a thing or two yet to explore and prescribed a medication to use in case there is trouble with the antibiotic she is on. Anyway, Heather had the doctor's full attention for a long time.

Then Heather and I went downstairs to the pharmacy where the usual Friday afternoon zoo was in session to get our prescriptions. The one Heather's doctor prescribed held the process up as the pharmacist couldn't understand the doctor's instructions for use. Whew, it was after five PM and we dashed to our apartment to call Jeannie and catch up there.

Then Heather and I went to Lowes and the supermarket for a few things and on home.

God Bless Jeannie and her daughter Jennifer, they came out to our apartment to visit a little bit after 7 PM. With gifts no less. A beautiful hanging basket that has a plant that trails and has small blooms. A pretty thing it is, Heather loves it and hung it in our patio right away. Cookies, nice big soft tasty cookies for us both and some cuttings from Jeannies Hibiscus bushes.

We had talked, Jeannie and I about how the two Hibiscus we had on our patio last summer thrived. So hopefully the switches she brought up will take root and bloom for us.

Then the visit was tremendous, words overflowed in all directions at a great rate. Maytime, warm patio, living was easy and fun for us all. But, we couldn't visit all evening as Jeannie and Jennifer are heading out early in the AM for New Mexican explorations. When she returns from there Heather, Jeannie and I will do some fun thing. Last year we wandered the hills a bit and went to Buffalo Bill's grave on top of Lookout Mountain including a look in and refreshments in the associated curio store - lunch counter there. We had a window seat overlooking the prairie and the Denver vicinity. With those two ladies the car windows must be open so the overflow of words has somewhere to go.

We expect her back around the 22 nd or 23 rd and she will probably have time to do a thing or two with Heather and I�before she heads back to Florida.

Then, it will be May of 2004 when Jeannie comes to Denver and we will have another grand Visit . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008