Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 19, 2003 - 20:46 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

A Vacation

We both woke up in a good mood this morning (even me) and frivoled away a pot of coffee and solids while teasing each other. After that we picked up the apartment to receive a visit from one of our grand daughters and her month and a half old baby girl. (Our latest great grandchild)

A quite pleasant interlude of visiting, me holding the baby and after while voicing the complaint, "What's she gonna do, sleep the whole time ?" The women shushed me and proceeded to string the baby out, playing with fingers and counting toes, viewing tummy and things that women do. Baby slept through it all. Oh well, next time maybe some action will occur.

A bit later Heather and I decided to "do lunch," her buying. We ate at a local place that specializes in soup. We enjoy going there occasionally. Place was jammed, line was long but I did manage to snag a table for us while she stood in line. That is the usual as I can't do lines and there is no way for me to carry a tray, pull an oxygen bottle with one hand and carry a cane in the other. Still makes me feel guilty though, cream puff of a guy. Line moved fast, the soup was good and filling and we enjoyed eating and talking.

Then we went home, lazed around awhile, talking and teasing until the "Sit And Be Fit," exercise thing came on PBS and we did that. I do it to give her moral support, can't hurt me and might help a bit too.

Later I boiled up a pot of broccoli florets and Heather pulled some leftovers out of the fridge and we had a nice little dinner.

Then after cleaning up the debris and starting the dishwasher I sat with Heather and tried to hear the afternoon news, just enjoying being with her.

After that, the usual e-mail, spam shedding activity and trying to answer e-mail and read journals. Spent some enjoyable time watching the eagle nest on webcam -- remarkable how much time one can spend, watching an eagle sit on a nest of eggs.

Sat down and skimmed the paper, didn't see a word about those upper crust girls who assaulted and degraded those high school girls recently. Doesn't surprise me really, wouldn't surprise me that no news ever comes forth again about it.

Guess it would have been possible for me to work up a rant over some thing or another but my mood was too good and relaxed. I sat down to meditate but fell asleep mid-navel. It has been a good day in pleasant company. They said when I retired, "Now, you will be retired - no more vacations to look forward to. Heh, I got news for them - no more time clocks to punch either. And today I took a vacation from A Vacation . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008