Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 05, 2003 - 21:27 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

A Smoggy, Rainy Day

Just read a joke that depicts this old Bastion to a tee.

An older couple is lying in bed one morning, having just awakened from a good nights sleep. He takes her hand and she says, "Don't touch me !"

"Why not ?" he asks. She answers back, "Because I'm dead."

The husband says, "What are you talking about ? We're both lying here in bed together and talking to one another."

She replies, "No I'm definitely dead."

He insists, "You're not dead. What in the world makes you think you're dead ?"

The lady clinches it, "Because I woke up this morning and nothing hurts."

Happens to me now and then, I thought I was the only lonely one.

Morning, 5th June 2003 the clouds are as down as a jilted man and dripping tears from the sky.

Denver weather, in the eighties a day or two ago, bumping into the nineties now and again and now the fifties. Okay for a day or two I guess. Our air conditioner is turned off for now and we were watching our few outdoor plants thrive on our first floor balcony.

There is a sparrow who has built a nest in a tiny ornamental birdhouse hanging out there. How she fits in there I'll never know, but she does, when we go out she flees to a nearby tree, peeps away and returns when we go back in. I was on the little step stool to put up a hanging plant and got near enough to see in the nest, there are four eggs in there. I can't imagine the home scene with four hungry sparrow nestlings yammering to be fed in that tiny birdhouse.

It is supposed to be cool here until Sunday and then go into the seventies. Occasional coolth, in a way jump starts me when it hits during the summer time. But then I no longer have to work outdoors in the rain and the mud in utter discomfort. When I was waterproofed it was the heat and upleasantness of being imprisoned in my working straitjacket.

There are some things I miss here in Denver, one is the pea soup fog we encountered in Tampa when we lived there, I would cautiously drive to work by the Braille system, hoping everyone else was doing the same. Another thing I remember is watching the train of showers coming up into Old Tampa bay. There were times of the year that showers were frequent and somewhat short. I remember being in and out of five different ones on the fifteen mile drive from work to home in the afternoon. That was shattered scowers for sure !

There are many other things I miss, too numerous to mention, so I won't.

Later it did quit raining and Heather and I proceeded to do some errands, but first a late breakfast at Gunther Toody's we each had a Big Bopper -- two eggs, a variety of meats (I had a Polish) and hash browns. Jeepers at $2.99 each it is a bargain, I was stuffed. When we asked for our check our waitress informed us that our meal had been paid for by three ladies who sat near us and had sworn her to wait 'til they left before we were told. I swear they must have been taking Random Acts Of Kindness lessons from Stefani, we were surprised and grateful. Then to the credit union, Public Storage and our tandem buggy episode at Costco. My buggy held my oxygen tank and cane and a little merchandise and Heather ended up with plants hanging from the handle and chock full too boot. Heh, took too buggies to get the stuff to our apartment too, our buggies aren't as huge as Costco's.

I vacuumed the apartment with our little Oreck while she put the groceries away. Then it was time for the "Sit And Be Fit," exercise on PBS. About the time that was over the sun came out, it warmed nicely so we sat out for awhile having tea and talking inconsequential things at each other.

Easy to see that this entry pretty well covers the day, obviously stretching from a nice evening and sunset back to A Smoggy, Rainy Day . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008