Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 26, 2003 - 20:52 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Don't I Wish

I guess that growing old is a bonus, at least in the process one is still alive. Considering the alternative nothing more should be expected ?

There are privileges and prerogatives galore, Senior rates for slightly smaller portions, doors being opened for a rickety looking old guy, retirement, not being tied to a time clock and harassed by a sadistic boss, yadda, yadda.

The past few days I have been experiencing some of the disadvantages an older person goes through.

It started a few days before last Sunday as a sinus headache, no drainage. Tylenol helped and I figured it'll go away as per usual along with me taking Tussin and Saline mist. And it did, Sunday night came the chills, coughing continuously with the inability to cough up what was down there. Up to the time I began to take prescription medicine late this afternoon it has been no sleep at night and a semi-delirious laying abed during the day. Couldn't eat without trying to cough up my bootsoles.

Things seem to hang on longer, be more severe and harder to cure and recover from for an aged person. So what's new ?

What the heck, I'm just not ready for this, there are a bunch of years ahead that are left to live for me and a lot of things I want to do and enjoy. Can't be moping around and occupying an invalid's couch.

The world keeps on spinning on its inevitable course, people keep doing nutty things, trying crazy things, killing each other, ticks me off when I am left behind. Gee whiz, I've missed grumbling around the Bush for a few days -- doubt if he has noticed.

And sadly, many of my friends and relatives are coping with their own brands of illness, disablities and pending surgeries. We all worked so hard for years for things to come to this ? Yet go on we must and get as much out of life as we can, I think.

Wouldn't it be nice if as one grows older one could grow healthier ? Don't I Wish . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008