Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 30, 2003 - 20:22 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Tell Me

The old man reminding himself, "You must share." Daughter's in-laws from all over the states are gathered in Boulder for a big Fourth Of July multi-day celebration so she and her family will be spending much time in Boulder this week. But we did get to go to lunch with her and the grandkids today and spend some time before that at our domicile with them. Gotta remember, "equal rights and equal time for all. A grudging grumble, in of course a gracious manner.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

No expert here, I'll be the first to admit but I do have opinions nonetheless.

There are probably speeches, laws, customs and ways of life here that support my ideas from way back. If I remember correctly it might have been Thomas Jefferson who held that schools for all must be, that public they would be and tax supported too.

That is the way it has worked up to now. But there is agitation afoot to change that to a voucher system allowing tax money to be spent to private schools because our public school systems are in such poor shape. Now it is a push for vouchers in Washington, D. C.

Seems to me that one reason for messed up public schools is that taxpayers hate to allow more taxes to be levied for schooling.

I just can't see the sense in taking any tax money away from the public school systems to be spent at private schools. That pretty well helps push public schools down the tube I think.

It is a well known fact that many private schools give a better education to their pupils, I remember the Catholic Parochial schools here in Denver when I was a kid. Kids going to school in that system were a grade ahead in studies from those of us the same age in public school. Remarkably, there was time taken for religious instruction of the kids too.

In those days parents who wanted special education of one kind or another for their children paid the money out of their own pockets. Public school was there for all and was supported by taxes - private schools were paid for by the parents or estates.

But the fundamental thing in my mind I think is that every child in our country deserves a decent education paid for by tax money and that effort should be devoted to bringing the public school system as close to perfection as any private school. Of course tax money can't pay for some of the extras that exist in private education, that is why there is private education and the tab should be paid privately.

The old saw, "You get what you pay for," still holds water I think. So if public education is to be brought to the level of private school education, then dammit the taxpayers should make it possible to do so.

Wibble wobbling around and trying to have things both ways is, "The road to perdition," as the old timers used to groan.

Dunno, ravings from an old man trying to see clearly and my glasses seem to be fogged a bit by blather. If I am wrong, someone please, I beg of you, Tell Me . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008