Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-05-16 - 15:30:45

May 16, 2000

Bittersweet Heroes

I know a person who as a boy, was taught right both by instruction and example who turned out a hero in my eyes.

He did well in school, was a fantastic Boy Scout, earned his money to go to Boy Scout Jamboree at Valley Forge, helped his dad deliver papers and still did well in school. He is the sort of person that whatever he is doing, he does full speed ahead without concern for his body or time spent.

He began drinking and fell away from the church, I guess because his mother and dad divorced while he was in high school in spite of his fervent prayers. He still worked and earned his money, did well in school but he began to socialize with the crowd who drank excessively. He attempted to go to college in the sixties where binge drinking almost was a requirement of survival. Which is where I believe he became addicted to alcohol. He married, still addicted, eventually I think he saw that if he wanted a decent peaceful life with the woman he loves he had to change his ways. On his own he went on the wagon and stayed there.

I guess to one who has never been alcoholic it doesn't seem to be such a big deal. However I have been there and done that and I realize how rare such individuals are.

He just became a grandpa recently, his other child is married happily too. He and his wife, through their efforts - financially, expertise and hard labor have improved an old house to the extent that there will be living quarters on the second floor and still have decent room on the first floor.

Since he weaned himself off the bottle he became a staunch member of the "Society of Friends" (Quakers). His conviction to become a member of that church I think was because his wife was a member active in attendance and behavior. I know he used to go with her on Sunday to be company to her. He has worked a job constantly, in fact he has worked from the time he helped his dad on the paper route, some times part time but when not in school, full time to the present day. He has had hip joint replacement, and surgery on both knees and has a bad back, but is still working. A dedicated man, accomplished I think because he had some good training from his parents, and him indomitable spirit helping him overcome addiction and continue walking a decent course.

I know of a lady who overcame the joint addiction to drugs and alcohol with very little help, maybe some day she will write a book. It would be a good companion piece to "The Big Book" which became my Bible while AA and God helped me get sober. While in AA it is possible to see people who cant stay dry for more than a month, who keep attending in the hopes of getting dry. "Going back out," as it is called is devastating to the one who falls off the wagon, becoming millstones hampering recovery.

I salute the heroes, they have accomplished much, and have given much. I wish I were one of them. Dedication, Inspiration, Persperation the wonderful way of life.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008