Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 09, 2003 - 22:44 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

FOR FUN

Usually when daughter and family are in town from Oregon things whiz along at a rapid pace, something going every minute.

This time though is a bit different. Grandson and his Dad are in Poland for a time, so it is Heather and I, daughter and granddaughter here. I think it is good for our elevenish grand daughter to be in this state for a short time.

There is swimming everyday with her Mom and either Heather or I and sometimes both of us over there with her. She does her things with the "watch me eyes" following every move she makes. No big brother teasing her and churning her up.

Today Heather and daughter were going somewhere that grand daughter really didn't want to go. So she asked her Mom if she could stay with me. Things brightened up for grandpa right then. With the admonition of, "Behave yourself now." Mom and Grandmom were off.

She busied herself watching TV and I was at the keyboard. In a short time she came in with a deck of cards in her hand and asked, "Grandpa, will you play Rummy with me ?" I turned in my chair and seemingly considered the situation (inwardly saying Yes ! Yes !) and seriously asked her, "Do you really want to play Rummy ?" The reply was a resounding, "Yes grandpa." With enthusiasm we made for the table and started playing. I know she is a very sharp, quick child but she has become an expert strategist and assayer of conditions on the card table. She learned to play on our house rules so there was no conflict there.

Sure there was other stuff I should have been doing -- but nothing as important to me as to be engaged in friendly play with my grand daughter. We spent the afternoon playing cards, having peaceful fun in a competetive way. Something that is filed in my memory book for all time.

For me there are occasions that one must take time out For Fun . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008