Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 16, 2003 - 21:06 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

A Trip

Into the past, but the very recent past. It began this morning and went quite a bit into the afternoon.

Our daughter had decided to take me to the Denver Art Museum and wheel me around the place in a wheel chair. I was excited to say the least as it has been a number of years since I was able to walk around to see all the pretties.

Grand daughter decided that she wanted a trip to the museum rather than hang out with grandma, so we were a trio - happiness bound. Her Mama used to go with me when she was in her early teens and loved the place so I knew she would have a good time even though sweating away behind a wheel chair.

What a sight I think we were. Me in a wheel chair, my oxygen bottle and little cart hogging space on the footrests and my cane stuck in there somewhere, an almost forty year old woman doing the duty and an elevinish grand daughter bouncing along like a drop of water on a hot skillet.

Daughter and I decided that after the Seargeant (sp?)exhibition, which featured many of his paintings and water colors he did in Italy - buildings - landscapes and average people, we wanted to see the Native American floor and the floor with the European artists. She was receptive to whatever and took it gracefully when her little one decided that we should take a look at every floor, so we did, every single floor. I loved it. It was a thing I wouldn't have asked daughter to do for me, but was very happy that little one voiced her desire and Mama went along with it.

Going through the museum I greeted with a smile my old friends that I had visited many times before, they are still there in their glory. Daughter put me in front of one of Monet's Water Lily paintings, left me there, she and little one went looking while I communed with Monet. Next to it is one of his smoggy London pictures, of a bridge there. Also a well loved old acquaintance of mine.

Of course the ambience was great, the docents wonderful and the air conditioning just right.

Aside from the places I wanted to go such as the Native American floor we went also the American pre-Columbian displays on a separate floor. Fantastic they were, as always. The displays from the far East were as usual, wonderful. It wasn't all paintings but artifacts of all kinds. Some of the works in gold were amazing and I think the museum has added quite an amount of such things. One thing of interest to me was that the concept of cradle boards seemed to be throughout all America but the execution was quite different in each area. They were all so well done, it was amazing.

While we were there we got to see a model of the new wing they are adding on to the museum. It appears to be a sort of science fiction, futuristic type of building, I am interested in seeing how they use the space inside of it. The museum building itself is a very unique edifice just west of the almost completely rebuilt main Denver Public Library which has its own unique features. A quick look at that now makes one think of "Back To The Future" for sure.

Such a grand day it was and how much I enjoyed it leaves me almost beyond words. My gratitude to my daughter for taking me into the very recent past --- super --- it was A Trip . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008