Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 26, 2003 - 22:42 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

The Rounds

When Heather's brother is in town our efforts are devoted to putting him in touch and visiting as many relatives as he can in the short time we have him with us. So today was a birthday party for one of our great grandchildren where brother-in-law got to visit with our middle daughter, her husband and her son - (the daddy of the honoree).

I was able to enjoy the action around us, but took a back seat on the conversations due to my lack of ability to hear in a mixed noise environment. I teased the little kids, played the typical pounce, claw, bite exercise with a little kitty who had the sharpest claws and teeth one can imagine. I managed to keep him entertained with minimum damage to self and had fun doing it. That took me back to when I first began that kind of play in imitation of my Dad who played with the kittens that appeared in our home when I was a kid.

Then we came home in time to put together a dinner for our youngest son who is undergoing radiation treatment. It was sort of neat, Heather put together a meat loaf, peeled and boiled potatoes. I did some of the peeling, slicing, dicing of ingredients for a mixed green salad, the brother in law helped around where appropriate, including mashing a giant pot of potatoes (a job expertly and well done).

Tomorrow a road trip to Fort Collins, north of Denver to the nursing home where a family member lives (a cousin if I have the family tree correct in memory). A distance of about 70 miles.

I respectfully begged off that one as the further I ride the more discomfort I experience and it would be a bit grim for me and a trial to the others trying to cope with this crabby old man.

Soon brother in law will be heading west again and Heather and I will pass through a short vegatative period of relaxation. It has been super busy for about a month now. One good thing is that we don't have to punch a time clock any more, and the activity has been fun even though exhausting.

In our visits in the last few days to nursing homes to see relatives I keep thinking of dear Ava and her beloved Mema in her process of adjusting to Mema being moved and removed into nursing homes, we know what she is experiencing even though we're not personally involved, the understanding is there.

I guess the world is still stumbling, mumbling and bumbling around haven't really had too much time to check on it and, checking on it can't change it anyway. Meanwhile we have been doing The Rounds . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008