Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 09, 2003 - 19:30 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Wanders

Another erroneous errand day today. Some turned out okay others were a bit sour. Wander we did, on some of them wonder why we did.

Busy enough that I missed doing the FF on Friday, so here is the far famed Friday Five

1. - What's the last place you traveled to, outside your home, state, country ?

A. - Home -- errands today over the Denver Metro area. State -- last November, a trip to our daughter and family's home in Eugene, Oregon. Country -- A cruise of the Mediterranean on our Fiftieth Wedding Anniversary.

2. - What's the most bizarre thing that's ever happened to you while traveling ?

A. - I was a tech rep in Viet Nam and was sent to Taipei to do a bit of training. I told the advisory group that I needed a visa to get in that country. They pooh-poohed it and sent me off without one. I was wise enough to get the name and telephone number of the man who I was to report to in Taipei. On arrival I was almost put on a flight back to the USA -- because -- guess what, I needed a visa to get in there. I finally convinced the military man who was going to send me home and wouldn't let me call so late at night to wait until morning and I could reach the man in Taipei. I was shunted into a deserted VIP room, no coffee machines or any other amenities and spent an uncomfortable night there until I finally got in touch and people brought my visa and rescued me.

3. - If you could take off to anywhere, money and time being no object, where would you go ?

A - Money being no object ? First I would arrange for oxygen to be made available to me, plus a strong wheelchair pusher. Then it would be a grand tour of Europe, especially the United Kingdom and Ireland - Scotland for sure. A safari in Africa, a visit to the diamond mines if it could be arranged. Then on to Australia and New Zealand. Coming around the Horn the next stop would be some of the South and Central American countries. Then in the states once again I would travel to any state I had never been in, ending up in the North-east part to see the foliage turn in the fall.

4. - Do you prefer traveling by plane, train or car ?

A. - Yes -- depends on the distance covered.

5. - What's the next place on your list to visit ?

A. - In town, family and shopping, in country a trip or two to the mountains, out of state - a flight to Eugene, Oregon to see daughter and her family for Thanksgiving.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I have reached a time of life and state of health that even errands around town are exhausting for me, the flight to Eugene puts me without oxygen for several hours and I am quite tired when we get there. Daughter meets us at the airport with oxygen tank on its cart, regulator attached and cannula hooked up so the ride from Portland, Oregon is made while I suck on the oxygen trying to catch up a bit.

But it is wonderful to be with the only part of our family that lives out of state, have fun with the grandchildren there and visit with the grown ups while I try to tempt them back into their own childhood.

So, on Saturday the Wondering Jew, Wanders . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008