Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 10, 2003 - 20:13 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Than That ?

Rummage sales, bazaars and all that stuff. I never quite understood the difference between them, or if there was any other difference than the names. When I was a kid they took place in churches and from what I gathered the proceeds went to mission work or some such good effort.

Now there are:

  • Garage Sales; wherein no garages are sold but a mishmash of all kinds of things.
  • Yard Sales; wherein no real estate changes hands, but a lot of stuff is sold, carried away and the remainder taken to the Goodwill or the dump. Some folks even try to give away the stuff they can't sell to the last lingering salesoholic.
  • While I was still working, once a year my company would have a Parking Lot Sale; Yeah right, the parking lot stayed right there. To take part and sell anything in that particular exercise a spot had to be reserved, kept neat and tidy during the sale and made squeaky clean afterwards. Just like at home !

    Coming here in September in our apartment & town house complex is a parking lot sale too. I think maybe they have already sold all the parking lots they dare, as above ground parking is somewhat scarce.

    Tickles me, I have been to most of them while living here and have seen a few things show up that I had seen in the sales before, be sold and show up next year. I wonder if they have changed hands at every sale that has been held since the apartments were built ?

    Of course one advantage of those sales is that no one pays sales tax. But in many cases they are weird, surreal types, both in the clothes worn by both sellers and shoppers and by some of the dingbat things that are put out to sell. The amazing thing is seeing something you would not be caught dead carrying away, or if you had it you would consign it to the dumpster - being sold to some poor, gullible person. Often it is the wife buying and the hubby toting it to their apartment but there is the vice versa thingy, hubby will talk wifey into letting him buy something that has taken his eye and wifey sadly watching him tote his treasure up to their apartment. In both cases it looks to me that most of us here are in the same boat. If we bring something home the decision then is what to give away, take to Goodwill or put in the dumpster to make room for the prize and I suspect it is much the same for them a kind of GIGO operation.

    For the most part I think we all go slightly crazy at any of those sales.

    The nowadays Bazaar is Garage, Yard, Parking Lot sales where none of the above are sold, what can be more bizarre than that ? . . . . . . . . . . . .

    0 comments so far
    << previous next >>

    Blog



  • back to top

    Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
    email:
    Powered by NotifyList.com

    Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

    Registered at Diarist.Net
    Registered at Diarist Net Registry

    Diarist
    My One
    Best Romantic Entry

    Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
    Golden Oldies?
    Best Romantic Entry



    This site designed and created by

    2000-2008