Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 15, 2003 - 21:48 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

This !

It seems to me that every thing has been relaxed in recent times including ethics, morals and so on.

Can the recent power outage in the North-east be attributed, at least in part, to the Enron mess ? Who knows, but I wonder. Information on the Enron timeline can be found on Google -- BBC News In Depth -- Enron. Interesting reading, what was it ? A natural gas pipe-line company who tried to wear the pants of many owners ? The corporations have been big contributors to the politicians from a way back, plugging for deregulation, touting its supposed benefits to the public. The airlines it seems to me went the same way a few years ago. The only thing I can see in my opinion is that deregulation has allowed the fox into the hen house along with his buddies. In the long run it is you and I the low wo/men on the totem pole who suffer in the end. And those of us little guys just don't have enough bread to buy us some politicians.

Instead of deregulating anything, maybe we should firm up regulation and see to it that no entity can buy into it. Seems to me that deregulation just allows the greedy ones to finagle extra bucks to our disadvantage.

Sooner or later it will come out in the news what caused the recent power outage, hopefully it won't continue into the biggies standing in a circle each pointing to the man on the right and saying, "Its his fault !" Then when they find the cause can us lowly ones hope that something is done to prevent it from happening again ?

I wonder if deregulation has happened to the thinking in Washington, D.C. ? GWB and his cohorts, "What global warming ?" Yeah right, not only us but in Europe they are suffering a heck of an ongoing heat wave causing the deaths of at least 3,000 people in France alone. Fires breaking out over there because of the heat. Not being a scientist I guess I am free to give my opinion, I think it will get a bunch worse before any human agency can better the situation.

Heather and I are going to try to beef up our survival gear, candles, flashlight batteries, medications, keeping our gas tank topped off, making sure we have enough warm blankets to keep us alive if a power outage happens during the winter. Dry food and canned food as well as water stored in our pantry. At least to survive a while.

In the meantime "one finger salute to the brass," deregulate This . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008