Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 17, 2003 - 22:40 MDT

THE WONDERNG JEW

To Another

Busy but with time for a bit of reflection and journal reading.

Last night we went to our daughter-in-law's retirement party and saw many folk we knew, we were related to some and knew the others. An evening that threatened to be rained out and blown away. It calmed down and we spent a very pleasant evening.

The honoree's daughter (our grand) brought her two sons, one old enough that he talks and is understood now and then and the other a bit behind him in age. What a pair they are, like drops of water on a skillet, the young one following the older one but striking out on his own now and then. Their Mama is pg again. I hope it is a little girl this time. I know our son will go totally bananas over a girl grandchild, he is slightly daffy over his two boy grandchildren. Heather and I of course love all of our great grand children, you know we think they are all great !

Our middle daughter, her husband and son were there and we got to visit with them a bunch.

The age range was remarkable, the honoree's son, a bit younger than his sister was there with his pg wife, also attending were two of his two cousins, one a Mother herself passing her baby from hand to hand. There were people about sons age, some the honoree's age, some much younger and quite a few older folks from their church. I found a vantage point and watched the passing of the ages you might say, enjoying the frolics of the little ones. It was a good night.

Early this afternoon we took out daughter out from her assisted living home to her favorite place, the Golden Arches on Leetsdale Drive where she ingested a big cold drink, two cheeseburgers and a big order of fries -- the thing she always eats. It is fun, she is without speech and I am more or less without ears, but she answers my talk by nodding or shaking her head as Heather and I come up with questions to ask her.

Then home for a short time, change oxygen bottles, load a desk chair that is uncomfortable for me and some chicken with noodles, still warm and away we went to see our youngest son. He has just two more radiations to go and then will be seeing his doctor about once a week for a time.

Made Heather and I happy that he liked the chair, it put him at the right level to use his keyboard. We had to restrain ourselves in the conversational mode to try to save his voice. He talkes in a hoarse whisper and I think it is a strain, but he seems to be so happy to visit that he initiates conversation. Then before it got too late Heather and I headed home, to almost be run down on I-70 by motorists coming home from the mountains, they don't seem to slow down until they have crossed the Platte River and then it is just a smidge.

Things have been peaceful tonight, caught up a bit on journal reading and returned a few e-mails. Then contemplation took over, my fingers idle on the keyboard. Thinking about the short span human life has. Only in school and in company meetings did it ever seem to stretch into infinity. Before me last night was my son, his son, his daughter and two of their children, son's nephews about the same age as his kids, our daughter with her son (in his 30's), grand parents as old as Heather and I and some older than I. It was an event where good will and best wishes prevailed. Gave much food for thought.

Then this afternoon with our daughter who is 55 and making the best of her situation and seeing her happy being at her favorite place.

This evening visiting with our beloved son who is coping with his own cancer problem valiantly. When his radiation began he was working full time and as time went on he had to scale his hours back but still works about three hours a day through the week. Luckily he has a job whose owners give him all the leeway he needs. Heather and I were quite surprised at the beginning of his travail to find out that he had himself covered all the way on medical, hospital and all the necessary things. He is a grandpa now too with two and one on the way.

Life did not pass rapidly before my eyes yesterday and today but moved rapidly while I viewed same from one end of life To Another . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008