Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 28, 2003 - 18:44 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Meditation

You take the time when you get it I guess. Today was the day we took the VUE in for service, we knew ahead of time that they would be searching for noises and it could possibly take all day. So we went prepared, Heather in her walking shoes to make the trip over to a Mal Wart nearby and me with my notebook, trusty pen and one of several of my "I Chings," guess that's what those could be called, maybe books to bring understanding. A book of poems by Maya Angelou.

There never is a time that one or many of her poems won't bring ease or humor to the surface of my troubled soul.

Here lately amongst my friends and relatives and acquaintances, who are coping with the realization of the frailty of the human body and mind has become such an ever present thing among us that I thought Maya would have good thoughts for me I thought, and she did.

There are poems of hers or portions there of that touched my heart and mind. Following are quotes:

From: 'Where we belong, a duet,'

"In everytown and village,

In every city square,

In crowded places,

I searched the faces

Hoping to find

Someone to care"

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

From: 'The Lesson'

"I keep on dying,

Because I love to live."

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

From: 'Willie'

"I may cry and I will die,

But my spirt is the soul of every spring,

Watch for me and you will see

That I'm present in the songs that children sing."

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

From: 'On Aging'

"When you see me walking, stumbling,

Don't study and get it wrong.

'Cause tired don't mean lazy

And every goodbye ain't gone.

I'm the same person I was back then,

A little less hair, a little less chin,

A lot less lungs and much less wind.

But ain't I lucky I can still breathe in."

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

And then from: Thank You Lord

"Thank you Lord.

I want to thank You lord

For life and all that's in it.

Thank you for the day

And for the hour and for the minute.

I know many are gone,

I'm still living on,

I want to thank You."

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I went through the poems, pondering the truths therein. I think she says it like it is, and always has. At least to this poor, old working Joe it uplifts me, and I ain't the same shade as she. Does that have to make a big difference ? I don't think so, don't think it should make any difference, my ears and mind can't read color and my eyes look out with love, my brain with understanding.

Tonight I am home with Heather, content and soothed. Life is good and I appreciate every second.

A day of reading with the heart and understanding leading to Meditation . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008