Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 13, 2003 - 20:58 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Ancestry-schmancestry

The last few days have put me in mental isolation you might call it or a sense of withdrawal. Thinking today that I had run absolutely dry maybe a place holder entry would be the thing. And in talking to Jeannie tonight was given permission to be human and do such a thing.

But sitting down I thought, maybe if I pick a journal or two at random and read it I will be inspired to say something. The first journal was that of the Old Grey Poet ---- they are thinking about moving. Jeepers, disturbs me and I have no right to be disturbed. Ah, here's Ellen of Under The Microscope. Hoo boy, I hit paydirt here. Ellen (barbie.html 9/13/03) read an article, I think by USA Today that says "Barbie" is a vicious Jewish anathema in Arabia. Guess the U.S. dollar is still held in esteem there though.

Wonder if Barbie would be acceptable if dressed in a Burka and only disrobed by a group of elderly ladies while in the process of changing from house Burka to "Formal" Burka ?

Her entry is hilarious and I will only mention that Ellen says there is verification of Barbies Jewishness, because Ken must have been the victim of a clumsy Mohel.

So, I have Jewish blood, but my Mother wasn't Jewish and my Dad didn't know his Dad was Jewish until he was in his late sixties. So, I am The Wondering Jew . . . . . . Knowing the moral, ethical, religious characteristics of way back then I readily understand that those things were never talked about. Back then when a young lady became enceinte she would often disappear to visit grandparents or aunts for a protracted visit of some number of months (more than nine), and when she returned home often had a baby cousin or such in tow. So my Dad's history was not what he thought it was but something entirely different. Those concerned who were in the know are long dead now, the trail ends there.

Didn't change him, he was still my Dad, things he taught me are still as good as the day he taught them to me.

Perceived Jewishness, Barbie, blonde Barbie, the lady of the altitudes and slenderness has been declared an evil invention of the Israelites by the Arabs, aimed at the destruction of everything Muslim ? That's as ridiculous as some of the paranoid stuff that has been traveling around our country recently. Maybe it is contagious, or something in the world's water ?

Dunno, in my book the only way that I can look at the world is that there is only one difference between people, the difference between the bad guys and the good ones, and have noted that often the bad ones change shirts and become the good ones and vice versa. What little traveling I have done it seems to me that clothing might be different, religions (Most of them) have about the same ideas and ideals as any other, call it what you wish but the Golden Rule, love of kin, love of offspring, common courtesy and practised charity are all present in most of them. It is only when distorted that they become vicious it appears to me.

Ah, but Ellen looks and laughs at things like that and I think they should be worth a snicker or two. And tonight when I read her entry my bubble of sad seriousness burst and I guffawed. Two legged, two armed, one headed folk I think are much the same. Heh, Ancestry Schmancestry . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008