Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 17, 2003 - 20:14 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Faulty Wishes

Things were humming along smoothly for me today until I picked up the mail from our mail box. Aside from the usual bills and junk mail there was this beautiful catalog for sternwheeler river cruises up in the northwest. The Wilammette and Columbia rivers, etc. 11 nights to travel on the northwest rivers, following about the same path as Lewis and Clark back in the early days. A time or two Heather and I rode Amtrak alongside the Columbia when we went to Portland on the Pioneer (no longer running). What an exciting route to go.

Of course there are stops made along the way wherein one can mill about in those good and wonderful, historical things and places.

Yeah, now something like that comes along. Wouldn't it have been nice to have something like that a few years ago ? Now after the car accident in 1997, and my health problems including making sure I could have oxygen replenishment along the way -- of course the trip is impossible. Some of the problems could be solved, but not all. For an extremely rich man maybe so, but for this dude it is a no-no.

So why is this little man-boy downcast tonight ? 'Cause I wanna go, y'know ? And I can't. So I guess I'll sit and sulk a bit, take an extra Wellbutrin tonight and hope that by tomorrow my serenitarian eeeequanimitee is once again restored.

No more "poor me" 'train wrecks,' "because Momma don't 'low no train wrecks in here !"

In perspective there is the possibility that Isabel can possibly kill many folks, wipe out their homes, careers and loved ones, lives changed forever. Here I sit feeling pouty because I can't go on a stinkin' river trip while many folks are fleeing for their lives.

Selfishly I have indulged in Faulty Wishes . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008