Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 02, 2003 - 20:53 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Musing

In somewhat of a mental muddle tonight, I have been mulling things around in my so-called brain.

Once a person had complete control over who came in their house. Now from what I gather from Heather, one must pay the phone company to have an unlisted number. Apparently it is such a terribly, time consuming trouble for the phone company to delete a number from a directory. Now that DEX which prints phone directories has been sold I wonder how many more layers of red tape it will take ?

Yet, I am not ready to go incognito like that. We're in the book and plan to stay there. I like our phone number, it is etched on the back side of my eyeballs as well as being filed in my automatic memory. This number has been in our family since early 1937 when we moved to East Denver. Originally it was EA xxxx, later on to further the phone company's plans, another number was added to the mix, still basically though, it stayed the same. Except, they decided to eliminate the letters and use numbers.

Of course Denver and the metro area has grown much (perhaps overgrown), so now people who live next door to each other can have two different area codes. The old numbers have the the original area code of 303, but Joe next door who just moved in has been assigned a 720 area code. Now we must dial in the area code for local calls too . . . . . . ten digits as in fingers or toes. Ten numbers for a call, now ain't that a ball ?

Life continues to become more complicated than ever. For example on the internet, all those letters and numbers on a url are so jumbled that some of them are hard to memorize also.

Litany

Nowadays it is ZIP plus four,

For mail to your door.

Then

One can buy a phone with speed dial,

Push one button - no lie,

The machine does the job while,

You sit and wonder why, ya' know,

It is the modern style,

To complicate things so,

Easy answer,

Too many things,

Too many people,

The trouble it brings,

Towers like a steeple.

It continues on and on for me, wondering and pondering and sifting trivia.

Jus' Thinkin'

I'd like to be a bat,

Blindly flying and all that,

Just one thing digs,

Bats hang and I sleep flat.

Then memory intrudes, with me it is a usual thing.

Time Marches

The Anvil chorus,

Of boys at home,

Feet thundering on stairs,

Slamming doors, clattering toys,

Wrestling - on the wall a ball thumping,

And much other noise,

It comes pumping,

In one's ears.

There is life busy,

In harmony it blends,

Making us dizzy,

NOW - Utter silence descends,

Neatness offends,

No clutter meeting the eye,

No more, "Wha'sup,"

Now - its just you and I,

The boys grew up, moved away,

Oh, my

Enough blundering from the Jew Wondering, another night of Musing . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008