Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 11, 2003 - 20:48 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Round Figure

Life and the world seem to be speeding along much faster than I. Most of this year has been a task of keeping the plates spinning while juggling jello -- through all the interruptions the devil can think up. Reminds me of a story about the old Quaker lady who once remarked to a friend, "Sometimes I think the whole world is crazy except me and thee and at times I suspect even thee."

The ills of aging people and aging relatives are upon us. No more so than other folks encounter, but encounter them we do. They are fatiguing, really and truly so. The state of the nation and of the world burdens me too. Seems like most everyone and every organization and/or nation has gone bonkers and some run amok for sure. Millions of people here in our country out of work, some of them homeless now.

But there are nice things about, also. Unexpected courtesies extended to us by younger people for one. The ability and means to go to the art museum, to go visit friends and family often, another benefit.

About the time my energy and endurance were at their lowest I was able to get on the internet. Being both deaf and friendly I entered a new world. Cyber meeting people who are now friends of mine. Some I have talked to on the telephone and one lady Heather and I have the great privilege of seeing here in person in May each year when she comes to Denver.

I can't stay in a room with my nose in a book forever, life is surely more than that. This person at the keyboard here needs friends and he meets them on the internet, reads their journals, diaries and meets them on a message board or two. I exchange e-mails with many of them. They can hear what I type and I can hear what they type -- an ideal situation to be in for a deaf man, and to boot -- each of us can read at our own convenience. One bonus to this is, we can't interrupt each other. How that speeds understanding.

A ways into this internet thing I found myself posting to Al Schroeder's Nova Notes questions and posting to a few other boards. It gradually led me to think that I had something to say -- so I kept saying. I discussed doing a diary with cyber friends, having seen Diaryland diaries touted which seemed to fit what I wanted, and receiving encouragement from said friends decided to give it a try. I like it and gabble away a bit everyday. A habit I grew to love. Often I have nothing to say and only take a few thousand words to say it, and neat it is that neither I nor anyone else has to read it. It is just there, the results of my venting, expressions of love and considered thoughts.

Through my diary I have met people on the net who are remarkable examples of humanity and heart and I am grateful for that, learning as I go.

Tonight is a milestone more or less for me, a man who thought his diary would probably only last a month or so. This is my 1400th entry tonight and I think that is a good Round Figure . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008