Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 16, 2003 - 21:23 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Yes They Do

Seen this morning near the front of the Rocky Mountain News October 16, 2003. "Triumph of a 'remarkable man'" An article by Mike Patty

This entry is based on that article. On August 29 Mr. Barry Ashworth, who has multiple sclerosis, fell while taking a shower. For the next seven days Mr. Ashworth who normally uses a wheelchair, lay stranded in the tub. He was unable to get out, summon help or feed himself or Libby, the 3-year old black Lab who is his service dog.

Mr.Ashworth reported that Libby kept him alive for that week. She did things to keep him awake when he was conscious and not hallucinating. Such as playing little games with him, licking his face, making noises. He said, "When I was conscious, I would stretch and use my muscles just enough to keep myself alive."

It is a daunting thought to me, trying to visualize staying alive without food or comfort for a week.

Then like a Godsend a person showed up on the scene who did the right thing even though she was instructed to do otherwise. "Seven days later, another heroine entered the picture. Julie Johson an RTD Access-a-ride bus driver." Johson said, "I went to pick up Barry and right away knew something wasn't right, the front door was open but the screen door was locked. Libby came to the door and barked."

"Johnson called her dispatcher and was told to wait a few minutes and then get on with her route."

This lady is so much like Bonnie of the Chattering and her Meals On Wheels route. "Instead she went back to the house and knocked on the door. She thought she heard a faint cry for help and went to a neighbor's house to call 911. While waiting for help, Johson crawled into the house through a doggie door and found Ashworth in the tub, near death." Such humanitarian concern and aid is certainly above and beyond the call of duty in my mind. Douglas County sheriff's deputies soon arrived and took Ashworth to Littleton hospital.

There is more to the article. Mr. Ashworth went through rehabilitation at a local hospital, "At first I was unable to do even the simplest of tasks, I was transferred to the rehabilitation floor here at Swedish (Hospital) and I knew if I were ever going to live independently again I would have to earn it."

Five weeks he was in rehabilitation working his heart out, he said, "It was like working two jobs he said. I'd get up in the morning and work hard until lunch. Then work until it was time to eat dinner and go to bed. Every day, morning to night."

This article strikes a chord in my heart as I remember going through such an intense course of rehabilitation while in recovery from a broken neck in 1997 -- working desperately to be able to go home and live a normal life.

Libby was at his side while he was undergoing rehabilitation.

Doctors and staff remarked on his will to survive and determination to be successfully rehabilitated.

I still go back to the hospital where I underwent rehabilitation and have a short visit with the therapists now and then. Everywhere they all seem to be such remarkable people with the huge desire to inspire people to regain their strength and abilities and help in everyway they can.

"Mr. Ashworth gave all the credit to Dr. Draznin, the rehabilitation staff, the bus driver and Libby."

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

After I read the article it occurred to me, why would a man with multiple scleroisis try to take a shower bath ? Then I remembered my dislike of a tub bath from my early days which has lasted my life up to this point. And I also remembered my struggle to once more be able to shower. I can't imagine a person with a disability, living alone trying to struggle up out of a slippery bathtub. Maybe that is just me, I don't know. Kudos to Mr. Ashworth - - - - -

I myself have said many times, "The Media only prints bad news." For the most part it might be true. Who ever stopped in front of a house that is in good condition surrounded by a well kept yard and wrote a news article about it ? People hold doors for me all the time now, jeepers this ugly old guy looks like he is on his last legs I guess. I am so grateful to see other folks who give a damn for someone other than themselves. I thank them for their help and gracefully accept what they wish to do for me. Maybe someday I can put together an entry on the folks who care for others, they certainly deserve it. Don't think it will show up in the local paper though.

Once in a while the media prints something about the good that someone does - - - - Yes They Do . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008